a call to die – day 34: not peace, but a sword

“Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth.  I did not come to bring peace, but a sword” – Matthew 10:34

I don’t know about you but I have no clue about what those words Jesus said mean.  I do know that God is a God of Both/And.  To me, He does bring Peace and He is the Sword.

He is Both Peace and the Sword.

However, Nasser brings this Scripture to light for me.  In today’s lesson, Nasser talks about when he had to tell his parents (who were Muslim) that he (David) had become a follower of Christ.  At that moment, Jesus didn’t bring peace; He brought a sword, dividing Nasser’s family in two.

It’s like that when anyone starts to Follow Christ, when they make the radical decision to leave behind the world.  Nasser informs us that when we make that decision, tension is created.  Tension is also created when our values begin to differ from our friends and family – because we Follow Christ.

What happens is that the sword (God’s Word) is invading the heart and mind creating unrest between the things of the world that we have in our lives and the things of the Spirit that are taking over.  Sure, Peace will follow but first the sword must remove the things of the world. 

I believe this is what Jesus is talking about.  He didn’t come to bring peace; He came so that our lives can be turned around.  We have to choose – Follow Christ or follow the world, doesn’t matter what our parents, friends, and family think about it. 

Jesus said, “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than Me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow Me is not worthy of Me” (Matthew 10:37-38).

Sure, I love my sons and my family, but as we look at having our priorities straight, God is and should be first in my life.  All my love and devotion is upon Him.  There are days when I stray and on those days, it’s His sword that is fighting the division in my heart (where there is no peace).

Nasser ends day 34 with this statement:  “The choice to let our families continue to be our lord or to let Jesus be our Lord is one of the biggest – perhaps the biggest – test of a disciple of Christ.  It is one we will be faced with over and over again.”

Therefore, today, think about Christ’s statement – I did not come to bring peace, but a sword – and what it means to you; which one will you choose?

Until Monday, have a wonderful Palm Sunday at church and continue to learn John 14:6.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 34: not peace, but a sword

  1. Dianne says:

    God demands that he is first in our lives, some people find that so hard to understand.
    I had a very hard time with this. Then I realized, God chose me to go to this Church, so yes I will put Him first and let him lead me down the path He has chosen for me.

Leave a Reply

