a call to die – day 35: honor your parents

“For God said, ‘Honor your father and mother’ and ‘anyone who curses his father or mother must be put to death.’  But you say that if a man says to his father or mother, ‘whatever help you might otherwise have received from me is a gift devoted to God,’ he is not to ‘honor his father’ with it.  Thus You nullify the Word of God for the sake of your tradition” – Matthew 15:4-6

Today’s lesson reaches the deep crevices of my heart.  As you know, my oldest just turned 18 last week.  With this ‘coming of age’ comes transition.  He is going from being dependent to independent.  It’s a hard road for both of us but with God, {for nothing is impossible for Him} we’ll make it. 

Going through this stage in his life is difficult.  I want so much to do things for him, yet I can’t, he has too.  He has to make the mistakes and learn from them (hopefully).  But one of the hardest things to deal with is watching him ‘grow’.  We’ve had our ups and downs and the good times with the bad.  My mind says let him go but my heart wants to hold on to him for as long as I can.

However, he must eventually leave the house and move on.  With this, I hope that he’s learned one of God’s most important lessons:  “Honor your mother and father.”

Nasser gives some great advice to those ‘teenagers’ in the midst of this transition:

  1. The role of parents or caregivers is very important to our development.
  2. Put Christ first in your life.
  3. Prove yourself.
  4. Listen.
  5. Help out around the house.

These five things are essential to knowing how to Honor your mother and father.  In addition, this is not just for teenagers.  Nasser is quick to say, “What are we teaching the students who watch our lives about humility and submission to authority when we disrespect, dishonor, disobey, ignore, or constantly question our own parents or parents-in-law?”

Makes me think – How do I honor my mother and father?

Until tomorrow, continue learning John 14:6.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 35: honor your parents

  1. Samantha says:

    Great words to live by, even at 30 years of age!! Thanks for sharing Lorna 🙂

  2. Dianne says:

    Great lessons for all of us to follow. Know you are a Great Mother, he will turn out well.

Leave a Reply

