a call to die – day 37: a fork in the road

“And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes Me.  But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depth of the sea.”  — Matthew 18:5-6

A fork in the road.  It seems I’ve covered this topic before (Crossroads).  However, today’s “fork in the road” is much different.  It’s explained in a way that I’ve never considered before but have enjoyed learning about.

Nasser begins today’s lesson writing about Jim Elliot and his prayer:

“Father, make of me a crisis man.  Bring those I contact to decision.  Let me not be a milepost on a single road; make me a fork, that men must turn one way or another on facing Christ in me” (Elliot, Shadow of the Almighty, p. 59).

Wow.  I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to pray that prayer.  According to Nasser, Elliot was a radical “and some of us don’t feel all that comfortable with radicals.” But Jesus was a radical and so was Paul. 

Jesus, a radical, who when people met Him, caused them to face “the truth about God and the truth about themselves” (Nasser, day 37).  He was the Fork in the Road.  When encountering Jesus ourselves, we have to make a decision to either follow Him or go the other way.

If we choose to Follow Him, He wants us to be servants.  Not the people on top.  The disciples had this problem.  They were following Him, but they wanted to be part of His “cabinet” so to speak.  They thought He (Jesus) was going to be a King (and He is) and they were going to be the people to enforce His rules (Nasser, day 37). 

But Jesus had a different mindset.  He knew that when people came to the Fork in the Road – when they saw Him – they needed to become like a child.  Nasser writes, “The paradox is that we have the greatest impact for God when we don’t care about fame, power, and approval.”

He (Nasser) tells us “You and I can be a fork in the road for people.  As we live the grace and truth of Christ, it will ooze from every pore.”  As a fork in the road, when people see Christ in us, we’re just pointing them to Him.  It’s ultimately their choice.  Remember, “God is in control.”

So, until tomorrow, think about this:  Are you a fork in the road?

Also, start learning Psalm 46:1-11

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 37: a fork in the road

  1. R Lawrence says:

    Hey Lorna,
    This was really good. I have been reading the book Radical by David Platt and it is definately a book that stirs the pot. Anyway the thought came to me in my own walk is how much of my walk reflects Him. Does His presence in me serve a meal or is it so processed it has no value to sustain? Are the meals of Him in me fast food, drive thru, canned, frozen or organic? Huge question to ask….I love to cook. Since I have really no one to cook for but myself these days meals can be different in preperation. So as I look at that spiritually the better I feed myself spiritually the better I can share those spiritual meals with others I come across. I AM making RADICAL decisions right now in my own life….and it’s GOOD. Thank you for for doing this blog!

  2. Dianne says:

    I think at the fork in the road I will be as a child, but God, is still working on me, He has made a lot of changes in me. I have grown, since September. I am seeing out of new eyes and listening to God’s word. I still might be Radical, but I know God is leading me in a new direction.

Leave a Reply

