a call to die – day 38: God can use you

“Jesus said to the servants, ‘Fill the jars with water;’ so they filled them to the brim.  Then He told them, ‘Now draw some out and take it to the master of the banquet.’  They did so, and the master of the banquet tasted the water that had been turned into wine.” – John 2:7-9

God can use you. 

I used to believe this wasn’t true.  Why would God use me? But He does, and He can you too.  Just like He used Beth Moore.

Nasser begins today’s lesson with one of my favorite Beth Moore stories.  It’s the story of her hair brushing experience in an airport.  She tells of how she was in an airport and this gentleman in a wheelchair had {very} tangled/knotted hair.  She heard God tell her to go brush the man’s hair – which she did and afterwards found out that he ‘needed’ his hair brushed because he was going to see his bride.  She also explains that later she was able to tell the hostess about Jesus.  Beth was in the right place at the right time and God used her.  It’s beautiful. {To watch Beth tell the story, click here or scroll to the bottom of this post.}

At the right place, at the right time.  It’s how God uses us.  We’ve placed ourselves in a position of being available.  The same thing happened to the servants at a wedding feast.

Jesus was at a wedding feast when the host ran out of wine.  This story gets me every time because it was Jesus’ first miracle.  It’s not just about turning water into wine.  Nasser points out that the servants were part of the miracle – “He allows us to participate in his miracles.”  He (Jesus) had asked the servants to participate by getting the vessels and filling them with water.  The servants were in the right place at the right time and God used them.

Love the statement Nasser makes, “God calls ordinary people to do ordinary things so he can do the extraordinary work only God can do.”  We just have to be in the right place at the right time and God can use you.

On this Maundy Thursday, Jesus gave us an example of how it is to be used by God when He washed His disciples’ feet.  But, back to the hair brushing story.  My thoughts are on Good Friday and when I listened to Beth tell the story it reminded me of what condition Jesus’ hair might have looked like and this thought came to mind – Would I have brushed His hair?

Until tomorrow, “Be encouraged!  God will use you.” 

Also, continue to learn Psalm 46:10-11.

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 38: God can use you

  1. Dianne says:

    God does let ordinary people work through Him. I had joined a new Church, gone there just a few weeks. It was a Wednesday morning, God started talking to me, saying pray for a man at Church, but I told God, I don’t know him, but God kept after me to pray, so I prayed. I went to Church that night and told the Pastor’s wife what had happened, she said he needed prayers today. God works miracles every day.

Leave a Reply

