a call to die – day 39: as you go…

“Then Jesus came to them and said, ‘All authority in Heaven and on earth has been given to Me.  Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.  And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.’” Matthew 28:18-20

remembering good friday

 

My thoughts today are on what my Savior had to endure for me today.  {I’m sorry Lord.}  He died so that I could live.  He died so that you can live. 

It may be Friday, but Sunday’s Coming! 

In fact, Sunday’s already come.  Now what are we supposed to do.  Jesus tells us exactly what we are to do – Go and make disciples of all nations!

Nasser writes, “Jesus called us to teach the world his truth.  Teaching is not just from a book.  Jesus taught his disciples with a combination of words and actions.”

I’ve recently finished reading the book, Radical, by David Platt.  It’s a book that has caused not only me to think, but others as well.  Read what the Radicalthebook.com has to say:

“Do you believe that Jesus is worth abandoning everything for?”

In Radical, David Platt invites you to encounter what Jesus actually said about being his disciple, and then obey what you have heard.  He challenges you to consider with an open heart how we have manipulated a God-centered gospel to fit our human-centered preferences.  With passionate storytelling and convicting biblical analysis, Platt calls into question a host of comfortable notions that are common among Christ’s followers today.  Then he proposes a radical response: live the gospel in ways that are true, filled with promise, and ultimately world changing.

After reading his book, it’s caused me to think differently about how I live my life.  Between God’s Word, Nasser’s book, a call to die, and Platt’s book, Radical, Jesus is changing my life.  And now, He wants us [me] to show and tell others about Him so their lives can be changed.  We do that by walking the walk He’s called us to walk, showing others Him through our lives and {Sometimes, it requires talking!}.

“Jesus was well aware what kind of command he was giving the eleven men who were with him, and to us, too.”  He knew that as we live out His commands, that satan would fight us {that’s why we have the Holy Spirit}, and our friends and family might reject us (Nasser, day 39). 

But, He still said, ‘Go and make disciples of all nations!’

Until tomorrow, continue to learn Psalm 46:10-11 and remember – Sunday’s Coming!

Caution:  The following video shows graphic images from the movie, The Passion of the Christ.  However, it is a very powerful moving video.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 39: as you go…

  1. Dianne says:

    I looked up “Easter” in the dictionary it states (an annual Christian festival in the spring celebrating the resurrection of Jesus.) I know on Sunday, our Church is calling it “Jesus Resurrection Day”.

  2. Deb H. says:

    I love this post and the video is amazing!!! I’m so glad that “IT’S SUNDAY”!!! I’m also reading Radical….and wish that every Christian would read this book because it will totally change the way they think!!! HOPE your Easter weekend is blessed!!

Leave a comment