a call to die – day 40: the next step

“Then Jesus said to His disciples, ‘If anyone would come after Me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for Me will find it.  What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul?  Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?  For the Son of Man is going to come in His Father’s glory with his angels, and then He will reward each person according to what he has done.” – Matthew 16:24-27

Thank you!

Thank you for taking this 40-day journey with me through the book, a call to die by David Nasser.  I pray that you have gleaned something from each post.  Nasser has stated on day 40 that “We are at the end of this book, but I hope you are at the beginning of a fresh, dynamic relationship with Jesus Christ.”  I agree.

So what do we do now?

Well, for starters, I will be taking a break from posting until after May 13 {unless the Lord says otherwise}.  During this time, I will be concentrating on finishing my semester (I have two finals to study for) and preparing my oldest son for Graduation {Yes, he is a member of the Class of 2011!}.

Nasser writes, “The message of Jesus calls us to make choices about him, about ourselves, and about how we live.”  True!  This doesn’t mean that once we’re finished with a Bible Study, we put aside what we’ve learned and move on.  No, we take what we’ve learned and apply it to our lives. 

Though Nasser wrote this statement, it comes from my heart also:  “One of my biggest hopes is that you have developed new disciplines as you have gone through this book [blog series].”

That is why I’ve decided to give away a copy of Nasser’s book, a call to die.  I normally don’t do this but within the pages of a call to die is some rich, deep material that I was blessed to read but you weren’t (unless you already own a copy). 

So, leave a comment with your name and favorite ‘thought’ from this series.  I’ll use random.org to draw for the name of the person who will receive the book (on May 14th).  If I know you personally, sounds like a lunch date to me; if not, I’ll mail it to you (but please don’t leave your address until you know you are the one who will receive it at which time I’ll ask you to email it to me.)

I pray that this series has challenged you in your walk with Christ.  I pray that the Lord will bless you and yours and that you have a HAPPY EASTER!

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 40: the next step

  1. R Lawrence says:

    I have enjoyed this journey with you Lorna. I especially liked the one on being used by God. Oh that we would ask Him to fine tune our hearing and press us to obey. Walking with Him is such an adventure…every day is different and never dull. Loved Beth Moore’s hair brushing story. After Katrina I was driving off St Charles Ave trying to find a street and there was a very elderly lady sitting right on the curb. It was cold and she had no coat and as I passed her that still small voice said “go talk to her”. I pulled around the corner and parked…had a blanket in the car took it and sat next to her after I wrapped the blanket around her shoulders. I told her my name and we began a conversation…she had an apartment but was locked out as it was damaged. She was staying with her sister and was waiting for a bus that was not coming anytime soon. So I took her to see if she could find anyone at her building and the only one there was one of the tenents who was clearly living on the park bench as he had no place to go either. I took her back to her sisters place but I cried all the way home realizing how many people there are just like her. How can we make a difference? I too have read the book Radical and it moved me to the core to at least try and make a difference. It means to do without something for 40 days before Easter is not enough….after Easter comes 40 days to pentecost….that is how long they waited for the Holy Spirit….the power the early church would need to ignite hearts. Is it any different now? I’m praying for God to stir our hearts. Thank you for your diligence in this blog. Becky

  2. Dianne says:

    Lorna, I loved everything you wrote, you were so open and honest. I admit, after reading the first blog on ” a call to die” I was so impressed, had to get the book. It is a book that taught me so much. I love the way God is working through you, to help those of us who are growing in our Faith.

    Love you,
    Dianne

  3. Elizabeth says:

    This is with out a doubt the best Lenten season I have ever had, thank you Lorna for you part in my journey. Good luck on your exams, love you, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

