The Sweet Potato

I love Sweet Potatoes; especially candied, fried, baked, but not in a pie.  The other day I pinned a recipe for Butter Pecan Sweet Potatoes {Hurry up Thanksgiving}.  But this post is not about my love for Sweet Potatoes.  It’s about the Sweet Potato I found in my kitchen this morning.

While fixing my coffee this morning after waking up my son who was soon to be late for school, I turned and noticed the Sweet Potato.  Earlier this summer, I had purchased three huge Sweet Potatoes from our local fresh produce store with the intention of frying and baking them.  I managed to fry two of them but never got around to baking the third one.

This morning I found it – looking like this.

It was growing.

It’s growing didn’t concern me for it’s a natural biological process.  What concerned me were the thoughts that entered my heart when I saw the Sweet Potato.

For the last year my church attendance has been slight to none.  Last summer I used the excuse that I was too tired from the semester to go.  During the fall and spring semesters, it was “I’ve got studying to do.”  This summer my excuse has been “It’s too hot.”  Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t totally quit going to church, I went sometimes – I guess enough to satisfy my “church attendance” requirement.  And besides – my heart wants to go.

Doesn’t work like that.

Back to the Sweet Potato.

As I looked at the Sweet Potato, I could hear God saying I was like the Sweet Potato.

Me, Lord, a Sweet Potato?

Yes, My Child, you are a Sweet Potato.  You see Lorna, like the Sweet Potato, you need to be planted to grow.  But like the Sweet Potato, there are times when growth occurs naturally without being in the ground.  But, this type of growing will not produce any fruit.

In order to grow effectively, you need to be planted.  In Your case planted in a Church where I can feed and water you with the hearing of my Word through My Holy Spirit.

As I stood looking at the Sweet Potato, I knew He was right.  He’s always Right!   True, I was growing {by doing Bible Studies at home} but I know I am going to die if I don’t get planted.  I need people – His People.  People who will help fertilize and prune me; people who will pick fruit when the time is right.

Going back to Church haunts me.  I’ve been out so long.  The other night I saw a friend (at a Bible Study) who said he hadn’t seen me at the Church he visited.  When I told him I no longer when there, He asked, “Where do you go?”  I could only hang my head and say nowhere.  He kindly and gently told me I needed to go back to Church.

So tomorrow night, I’ll go.  I’ll be planted and allow Him to feed and water me.  I’ll go so I won’t die but to continue to grow and produce fruit (well, in this case, Sweet Potatoes).

~ {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Sweet Potato

  1. Dianne says:

    This is so true, I am guilty of not going every week. You had a beautiful way to take a simple sweet potato and open my eyes. Thank you,

  2. Carol says:

    Oh, I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t go to church. And Bible Study with others in order to talk about what we’ve read & share our thoughts…which at times is different on the same passage. We are disecting The Book of James right now.It is fantastic.Five chapters that will change my life forever. When God talks, listen! Luv ya

  3. Pingback: The Real Thing | Follow 2 Serve

  4. Pingback: Love in the Conscious Mind | Follow 2 Serve

  5. Pingback: Returning | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

