The Real Thing

Several years ago, Coca-Cola decided to change the formula to their original Coke drink.  It was disastrous {nasty to be exact}.  I remember drinking the new formula and throwing it away.  The change was so drastic that the people demanded the original formula back – and they got it.  Coca-Cola returned the drink to its original taste.  People were happy again.  What they wanted and got – was the Real Thing.

The Real Thing.  A nice slogan for a company.  But it’s also what I want when I go to Church.

Over my lifetime (which is about mid-way), I’ve attended several different types of Churches:  Baptist, Non-Denominational, Presbyterian, Methodist, Trans-denominational, even some off the wall ones.  Some of these were by choice, one because of who I was married to.  Each had their own way of doing things – each with their own distinct outlook as to what the Church is to be.

Each trying to show others the Real Thing.

You’re probably wondering where I’m going with this (to be honest, me too).  But, if you read my last post, The Sweet Potato, you’ll know that I made a commitment to go back to Church.

I did.

I went last Wednesday and this past Sunday.  Sick, but I went.

I went not knowing what to expect {well, I kind of knew what to expect, it was Church after all.}  I went last Wednesday because I said I would. Nothing exceptional happened.  I sat in a class with several other women, watched a video, coughed, said a few things, coughed some more, and then class was over.  Caleb and I afterwards, went to Baskin-Robins and had ice cream.

Then Sunday came.  Sunday always comes.

It would have been so easy to not go Sunday.  I had already done what I said I would do, I went to church Wednesday night.  But something deep inside me was calling.  It was the Real Thing.  So I got dressed and went to Church, again. On a Sunday.  Again, expecting nothing.

What I got was the Real Thing.

Since I know some of the people at this particular Church, I knew I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable; but what I didn’t expect was to come in contact with so many people from my past.  I see friends from the moment of my arrival as I passed them in the breezeway taking their girls to Children’s Church.

Entering the Church, I see my friend Rena from Insert Grace Here {she’s leaving on a mission trip Tuesday, so pray for her please}.  We talk a few minutes and promise to catch up again later.

Worship has started by the time I enter the sanctuary; I sit by myself {it’s ok, I was still somewhat sick}; but as I look around the Church I see people and faces from years ago.  I see another friend and another.  I see the Real Thing.   I see people worshipping Almighty God, I see friends greeting each other, and I see others trying to find a place to sit.

The songs have ended and the announcements given.  I wait to hear what the sermon will be.  Since this is the first time Sunday I’ve been at this church in a long time, I’m unaware the Pastor is on vacation.  But the one who speaks does not deter me from leaving for he is another friend from my high school years.  Again, I find the Real Thing.

By now, you’ve probably sensed a theme here.  Friends and people.  The Real Thing.  They are the ones who make up the Church. They are the ones who are the Church; makes me want to be the Real Thing.

And that I am.  I am the Real Thing.  I am a Person.  I am one who has been in and out of churches my entire life. I am the one who makes mistakes and has to ask for forgiveness. I am the one who yells at my kids way more than I want to.  I am the one who is trying to figure out my life – one step at a time.

But, it’s the Real Thing inside of me that will change me.  It’s the one I Follow 2 Serve that will bring me together with those at Church.  It’s Jesus who is The Real Thing.  He is the Original Formula.  He doesn’t change.  When I drink from Him, I will always get The Real Thing.

Jesus, the Real Thing.  He is what makes others the Real Thing as well.

So, as long as the Church doesn’t change the formula, there will always be – The Real Thing.

~ {Lorna}

PS.  Going to Church again tonight and an interesting fact I found after typing this:  Coca-Cola’s slogan in 1969 (the year I was born), was “It’s the real thing.”

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Real Thing

  1. foroneplease says:

    so wonderfully put!

  2. This brought tears!!! Lorna, I’m in awe of God. I was so blessed to see your face! Outside of facebook! 😉 I know this–ours is not a perfect church. If it had ever been it certainly stopped when I entered. But to fellowship with others who are like minded, who want HIM, and to worship with—well, there’s nothing like it!

    I hope you’re coming back tonight! Nothing more I’d like than for you to worship with me. Still, I want HIS plan for you. But I’ll be requesting your home be mine too. 🙂

  3. Dianne says:

    You hit the nail on the head. You can feel God’s love when you walk in the door. We are his children and he loves us. He is the “Real Thing”!

Leave a Reply

