Love in the Conscious Mind

I believe that God speaks to us through various ways that are available to us.  He can speak via Television shows, friends, Sweet Potatoes, through reading His Word {His Favorite way to speak to us}, sermons, books, and music.

Other than through friends, God seems to speak to me the most through music.

I guess it’s because I come from a musical family and was in the band throughout my junior and high school years.

David, a man after God’s own heart, was a musician, called to soothe Saul with his harp playing.

I also believe that God can use both secular and Christian music to speak to us {though I listen to very few secular artists}.  Most of what is in my iTunes library is Praise and Worship music along with music from Selah, Mandisa, NewSong, Big Daddy Weave, and various other Christian artists.

However, I have a friend who is a musician and He released a CD earlier this year.  As a way to support him and his music I bought it (on iTunes).

There are eight songs on the album and all are great but after listening to song number four I knew I was in trouble.  So I quit listening to it (just song number four Rusty).

Since the songs are mostly upbeat, I used them as my walking music last week.  I got through the first three songs at a good walking pace.  Then song number four came on – it was like a ton of bricks hit me.  I slowed my pace and listened to the words.

Song number four is “Love in the Conscious Mind.”  It’s a song about two lovers that have drifted apart and one of them is asking the other what they are going to do about it.

But it’s the chorus that got me.

Love in the conscious mind
That’s what I need from you
If we don’t give our hearts completely
There’s nothing left to do
Love in the conscious mind
I freely give to you
I give my heart completely
The rest is up to you
What will you do?

With those words I felt Jesus speaking directly to my heart – taking my breath away {but of course it could have been the Walking but I prefer believing Jesus spoke to me}.

I’ve listened to song number four several times since then and have come to this conclusion:  Jesus, the one who loves me unconditionally wants me to not only to love Him with my heart but to Love Him with my Conscious Mind.

“And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.” Mark 12:30 NKJV (emphasis mine)

He wants me to make a choice – To choose mentally to Love Him.

He’s given His heart completely.  The rest is up to me.

Between the Sweet Potato and “Love in the Conscious Mind“, I feel that I’m back on track with Him. I’m back in Church and have attended a Bible Study with a friend, taking one step at a time.

For me, it’s a daily choice to Follow 2 Serve Him.  It’s a daily choice to read His Word, to Pray, to Love, to Serve.  It’s a daily choice to give Him my heart completely

So, Jesus,

I give my heart completely; the rest is up to You

Love, {Lorna}

For more information on Rusty Yates and his band, visit his website at RustyYatesBand.com or find him on Facebook.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love in the Conscious Mind

  1. Ginger Wade says:

    I love how He speaks to us through the everyday, and I love how those words pierced your heart for Him. Beautiful. I may have to check this music out.

    Ginger

  2. Dianne says:

    So glad you gave the song another chance. When I listened to the chorus it made me question my faith. I also need to listen with an open mind when God talks to me. God wants us to come to him, He is always there. I don’t know Rusty, but he has a lovely voice.

    • Thanks Ms. Dianne ~ Rusty does have a nice voice – and he’s a good guy as well.

      I didn’t intend for the post to make you question your faith – from what I know about you – your faith is pretty strong. And yes, God does want us to come to Him and He is always there.

  3. Jeff Yates says:

    WOW….I am Rusty’s brother….What an honor. I am co-writer on this song, and to say that our song had an impact in this way is more than words for me personally.
    This song has a personal message that has to do with my now failed 15 year marriage,and to read what I read in this message, I could not hold back the tears…thank you and God Nless

    • Thank you Jeff. I didn’t know that you were co-writer or I would have included your name as well. It’s always been my prayer that what I write will impact others the way it impacts me. Sorry you had to go through what you went through to write such a powerful song. Blessings to you and yours. ~ Lorna

Leave a Reply

