Fear, Failures, and Fossils

Fossils? You’re probably wondering what in the world fossils have to do with Fears and Failures.  Read on to find out.

This morning while reading Week 2 in “Losing it for Life” by Steven Arterburn and Dr. Linda Mintle, God revealed some things to me.  As I worked through the material for day one in the workbook, I realized that the things that I have done in my past are no different from the things I am doing now.

As a teenager, I was tall and slender – weighing less than a hundred pounds when I got married and could eat anything I wanted to and never gain weight. Today, I weigh much, much more than that {more than I need to be weighing} and it feels like if I drink water I gain weight.

What changed as I got older was I began substituting food to cover up my problems instead of using other things to hide behind them.

This brings me to Fear, Failures, and Fossils.

Fears:  Using food (or other things) to cover up the Fears that I had/have is not a good thing.  Some of my fears are fear being alone, losing my children, being rejected, or just being happy.  However, God says not to fear for —

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment.” I John 4:18 NKJV

But at times I still fear.  One of my biggest fears is my fear of Failure.

Failure:  I have lots of Failures.  Some big, some small, some forgotten, and some still vivid in my memory.  At times, my fear of failure tries to keep me from Serving because I’m afraid I’ll do something wrong.

Most of my fears and fear of failing comes from those things I have done in my past.  Others by my own willful disobedience and choosing.  Nevertheless, they are still fears and failures.

Until this morning.

I’ve had the title of this post for some time now but couldn’t figure out why.  This morning He showed me why.

Fears:  I’ve covered that.

Failures:  I’ve covered that one too.

Fossils:  He’s covering that one.

Fossils, as God revealed to me, are those things in my past that are in my past.  A Fossil is “the preserved remains or traces of animals (also known as zoolites), plants, and other organisms from the remote past.”

I have fossils from my childhood, my teenage and early adulthood years, my first marriage, several years ago, and as early as yesterday.  Some fossils have been washed away; others are yet to be found.

Wherever the fossils are and the age of those fossils, they serve a purpose.  Just as fossils found on the earth, the fossils we have in our lives can teach us things.

They teach us that we have walked through the valley of death and come out alive.  They teach us that even though they are a part of the past, they are not alive and can no longer hurt us.  Sure we may remember how we got the fossil since it’s been engraved in our hearts and minds; however, it does not have to control us.

Fossils teach us that we have lived.  They show us we have had heartaches and joys along the way (not all fossils are bad) and that we can enjoy the beauty of the past without fear.  They show us we have failed and have moved on.

So, throughout our lives as we deal with our fears and failures, and life in general, we are leaving fossils behind.  If you find one in the future, dust it off, learn from what happened, and preserve it; but don’t try to bring it back to life. Press on to create new fossils and yes, there will be times of fears and failures but never fear, Jesus is walking right along with you.

“I’m not there yet, nor have I become perfect; but I am charging on to gain anything and everything the Anointed One, Jesus, has in store for me – and nothing will stand in my way because He has grabbed me and won’t let me go. Brothers and sisters, as I said, I know I have not arrived; but there’s one thing I am doing; I’m leaving my old life behind putting everything on the line for this mission. I am sprinting toward the only goal that counts:  to cross the line, to win the prize, and to hear God’s call to resurrection life found exclusively in Jesus the Anointed.” Philippians 3:12-14 The Voice Bible

I love “Redeemed” by Big Daddy Weave.  Enjoy and be blessed.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books, Just Life, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fear, Failures, and Fossils

  1. Allyson Decker says:

    Tonight I will be running my very first PTA board meeting. Thank you for the words and scripture reference on fear. I definitely needed to hear that today! I will say a prayer before I go in and ask God to calm me and give me the correct words to speak tonight and I will know that He is with me and I should have no fear!!! So glad for your timely post (God had a hand in that too!!) I love reading your blog! xoxo

  2. Dianne says:

    Lorna, you will never be a failure in God’s eyes. You are a very open person and I really loved this one. God is still working on us, we will always be work in progress. The music was wonderful.

  3. My how you have spoken directly to my heart through these words. So God.

Leave a Reply

