A Love Invasion

For a couple of weeks twice a year, usually in March/April and August/September, my homeland is invaded by Love.

Lovebugs that is.

If you’ve never encountered these little, black, flying critters, BE THANKFUL!  They are a mess.

They cover our cars; fly into our windshields as we drive.  You’re really in trouble if you have a white car.  And you don’t what to open your mouth as you walk outside.

From what I can tell, they serve no purpose except to leave their messy residue on our vehicles and look cute but you will very soon develop no Love for them.

As I was washing these critters off my vehicle the other day, I was reminded that these Lovebugs are like the evil one.

I stopped and had to think about that thought.

It’s true.  They are like satan.

One of the reasons they are called Lovebugs is when you see them they are usually mating.

This is what happens when we are not in God’s Word or in fellowship with other Christians.  We hook up with whatever looks “cute.”  But this is not a good situation.  Hooking up with “Lovebugs” might feel good for a time but eventually one will get slapped around or be driven into a car’s windshield ensuring instant death.

When we are in these types of relationships, after it’s over, a mess is left:  Unforgiveness, anger, depression, and feeling like we don’t need God arrives.  This is what satan wants; he wants us to not be in Church.  He doesn’t want us reading Scripture;  he wants us “attached” to the world.

About the only way to remove the Lovebugs and their mess from a vehicle is to wash it.

This is what I was doing the other day.  I realized what I was doing.  I was washing the Lovebugs’ reside off my car.

Did you catch what I said?

I was Washing the Lovebugs’ residue off.

“Wash yourselves, make yourselves clean; Put away the evil of your doings from before My eyes.  Cease to do evil,” Isaiah 1:16 NKJV

This is what Jesus does through the Holy Spirit. He sends His type of LOVE Invasion.  He washes our sins away.  No matter how long we’ve been attached to the “Lovebug” (the world), Jesus’ died so our sins could be washed away.  It was because of LOVE he died for us so we could be clean and forgiven.

“. . . Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood,” Revelation 1:4b NKJV

Upon asking, we become washed.  Clean.  Forgiven.   {But trust me, I need to be washed daily.}

Though I’ll be glad when the Lovebugs are gone, I’m thankful that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ will never leave me.  He is always with me.

Time to go wash the car and may you be invaded with the Love of Jesus this week.

{Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Love Invasion

  1. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    This was a great post Lorna. I had not thought of Love Bugs for some years now because we don’t have them where I live so I enjoyed remembering and being thankful that they are not in this part of the country. But Jesus is…Thanks be to God!

  2. Claudette Gleason says:

    Love it Lorna! Made me look at LoveBugs a whole new way!

  3. Dianne says:

    Never thought about a Love Bug, but you made some important points, as we have to get rid of them. I know from experience I need to be cleaned, thank God, I can always go to Him.

Leave a Reply

