Lady Wisdom

Often times during my walk with God, those times when I’m attempting to Follow 2 Serve, I feel lost.  Lost as in not knowing what to do next and often not knowing exactly what I should be doing.

I feel as though I’m not the only one.  I’m almost positive at times the disciples felt the same way.

So, what are we to do when we get in this situation?

We listen to Lady Wisdom.

Because I am a woman, it’s hard sometimes to recognize that God has a feminine side.  Most of the time I look to Him as Father and Lord – “manly” titles; it’s not often that there is a reference to God as being female. {No, I’m not trying to start a debate on whether God is male or female, just writing what’s on my heart.}

It wasn’t until last month that I really connected to God {Jesus} with my femaleness {is that even a word?}.  I had purchased a new Bible, The Voice Bible, and have fallen in love with the way it reads.  I was in a rough spot and needed some guidance about some things so I decided to start reading the Book of Proverbs.

The Book of Proverbs – it’s full of wisdom, cute sayings, deep verses of knowledge, and the home of the Proverbs 31 Woman.

But — It was Lady Wisdom that caught my heartstrings.

 “Isn’t Lady Wisdom calling? Listen; don’t you hear the voice of understanding crying out?  She’s taken her stand at the highest place in the city, at the crossroads where everyone can see her.  There, and at the gates, at the entrance to the city, right in front of the city doors she cries out;” Proverbs 8:1-3, The Voice Bible

Sounds like Jesus doesn’t it!

As I read the rest of the Chapter 8 and Chapter 9, in the core of my Spirit I could hear the Wisdom of Jesus spoken though Lady Wisdom. (All verses from The Voice Bible)

O People! I am calling to you; I have a message for all humanity. (8:4)

I follow the way of right living.  Follow me along the path to find justice. (8:20)

For when he recognizes me and follows me, he finds a peaceful and satisfying life and receives favor from the Eternal. (8:35)

Lady Wisdom has built her house; she has supported it with seven pillars.  She’s prepared a feast; She’s slaughtered her animals, poured a spiced wine, and set her table.  She has sent out her servants with the invitation to come to the party; she, too, calls out from the highest point of the city; (9:1-3)

Come in. Come, eat my bread, and drink my spiced wine.  (9:5)

Jesus.  Lady Wisdom.  Guidance.  Truth.

As I read those words last month {and even typing them now} I could feel the Holy Spirit reminding me of one of my favorite verses:  John 8:32 – “And ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free” (NKJV).

After reading Proverbs 8 and 9, seeking the Truth [Lady Wisdom/Jesus] truly will set you free.

“I will only speak the truth; I despise evil, so it will not pass through my lips.  Everything I say promotes justice; not one word is crooked, and nothing is distorted.  Each and every word is straight talk to perceptive people, upright and honest to knowledge-seekers.” (Proverbs 8:7-9, The Voice Bible)

Jesus.  Lady Wisdom.  Guidance.  Truth.  Seek them today {I promise you won’t feel lost afterwards}.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lady Wisdom

  1. He does indeed!!! He is El Shaddai–the breasted one!!! Love this, Lorna!!!

  2. Love how lady wisdom keeps reminding me to build my house. 🙂
    Beautiful Lorna.

  3. Pingback: WISDOM UNLOCKS THE DOOR TO SUCCESS « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

  4. Pingback: SEEK THE SWEET AROMA OF WISDOM (PART ONE) « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

Leave a Reply

