Physical Therapy

Last Monday, I had a doctor’s appointment for a physical and for him to check out a problem I was having with my hands and feet going numb.

Of course when you get in there – they check everything, so we talked for a few minutes, he listened to my heart, checked my blood pressure, and ordered some blood work (I hate needles).  Then we discussed what was going on with my hands and feet.

“They go numb.  I get that tingling feeling when I raise my hands, walk, or just sit on the couch.”

He ordered x-rays.

A little while later the results came back.  I have a problem with my neck that is causing the numbness.

The treatment:  Physical Therapy.

So, for three days this past week, I spent an hour each day with the Physical Therapist.  {He’s a really great guy even if I don’t like the homework he assigns me.}  Things may hurt and I’m finding muscles I didn’t know I had but doing the exercises will strengthen me.

I’ll go for at least another six treatments and then if things don’t clear up – back to the doctor I go.  Since I’m already noticing a difference, things should be good to go as long as I continue to do the exercises.

I tell you these things 1) so you could pray for me to be able to strengthen my neck and back and 2) God showed me something last week that really stuck in my heart.

He showed me that it took a physical problem to get me to go to the doctor which led me to the Physical Therapist.  He also showed me that Physical Therapy was much like going to Church.

“Huh God?  Going to Physical Therapy is like going to Church?  Lord, you’re going to have to show me the connection.”

Think about this:

When we go to Physical Therapy, the Therapist is there to show us exercises to do to strengthen our body.  They show us the correct way of doing things.  (One of the problems I have is not having the correct posture which didn’t necessarily cause my neck problem, it just makes it worse.  He showed me the correct way to sit and stand and I can tell the difference.)  While there he makes sure that I’m doing things correctly so when I go home I can do them the right way.

Now, think about this:

What happens when one goes to Church?  One is instructed (usually by Pastors and Teachers) on the different Spiritual exercises we can do to strength our Body – Worshipping, Praying, Studying the Word, Fellowshipping with others (along with other things).

There are others at Church who give us advice on how to do the proper things, disciplining us when we sin, teaching us the correct way to do things {Yes, I get fussed at every time I don’t sit up correctly at Physical Therapy}, making sure we stay on track.  At times, being in Church may hurt, but the exercises and the discipline will strengthen, not only our Spiritual Body, but the Body of Christ as well.

“I get it now God.  Church is my Spiritual Therapist.”

Whether it’s Physical Therapy or Spiritual Therapy – keeping a body healthy and strong is hard work.  (Something I’m just now realizing that needs to be done so I can play with my future grandchildren.)

So, the next time you injure yourself, whether it’s Physical or Spiritual, seek out a Therapist, it’s good for the Body. {It could keep one from becoming injured in the first place.}

Besides, one must be Healthy to Serve. {Off to do my exercises, Good Night.}

“And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teacher, for the equipping of the saints for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ,” Ephesians 4:11-12 NKJV

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life, Serve and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Physical Therapy

  1. Awesome post!!! Great analogy. I remember going to Physical Therapy back when Sophie was a baby. I had neck and shoulder issues. The majority of what the therapist had me do was exercise. I, too, was amazed at the difference. When I get stiff or sore now, I realize I wait until that point to stretch those muscles. I could do those exercises and keep my neck stretched on a regular basis to avoid soreness. You’d think I would’ve learned this much earlier, huh?

  2. I love that. My Spiritual Therapist. Praying with you.

  3. Dianne says:

    Yes, it is great we have Doctor’s for our health problems, and God, to keep us on the correct path. Praying for you.

  4. Pingback: Physical Therapy Ends but Am I Healed?

Leave a Reply

