Sinful Repeats

This is one of those posts that I’ve started and stopped several times.

Why?

Because it deals with sin – My Sin.

There is this one Sin in my life that I have a hard time overcoming.  I’ve asked God to remove it – to take it away.  I’ve asked for forgiveness seems like 7 x 70 times.  Each time He forgives me.

But, I keep repeating this same Sin.

[Reminds me of the Israelites who spent 40 years in the Desert.  {I’m almost 43 so if I started “sinning” at age 3, then my 40 years are up this December, Right?}]

As I was sitting in Church Wednesday night, something within me began to stir.  The lesson was on Being under Authority and using the Power of God’s Authority.

It was then that I realized that even though I was asking for Forgiveness, I wasn’t Repenting and asking God for His help to Overcome {thought I could do it on my own}.

Then something strange occurred this morning {Love how God works}.

I was looking up the Hebrew words for Repeat and Repent.  Guess what – They are the same word – Shuwb  {how cool is that.}  In addition, there’s only one letter different in the two English words. {Think Beauty from Ashes}

So, now I believe I have a handle on how to overcome Sinful Repeats.

  • Instead of just asking for Forgiveness, Repent (a conscious turning away from) of the Sin.
  • If I’m tempted to Repeat the Sin, I ask God for the Power of His Spirit to overcome.

By doing these two things, I should have less and less Sinful Repeats.  Because I don’t want to be like the fool who repeats his [her] foolishness (Proverbs 26:11).

I want to see the Promise Land.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sinful Repeats

  1. Dianne says:

    Lorna, we all have our sins, I did not know that I had to repent and ask through Jesus to be forgiving by God. I am a lot older than you, learning more every day and hope to not repeat all my sins. But as you know, we all slip and fall. God is Always with us.

    Keep up the wonderful work you are doing. Look Forward to it.

  2. margaretfeinberg says:

    If your 40 years are up this December, then you should be entering the Promise Land sooner than you think! Here’s to flowing milk and honey! *clinking milk glass*

Leave a Reply

