An Unveiled Face

Often times God will give me a word or a phrase that is meant to be a blog post weeks in advance of the actual post.  This is one of those times.

Several weeks ago, this verse was the YouVersion’s iPhone app’s Daily Verse:

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord. (2 Corinthians 3:18 NKJV)

I marked it as a favorite and sent the verse to myself via email.

As usual, I forgot about it.

Until last week.

Since then, the phrase – Unveiled Face – has played over and over in my mind.

Normally, when one thinks of this, the image of a Bride comes to mind as the Groom removes the veil from her face, exposing her face to him.  {Which, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful things done in a wedding.)

But, to understand what God is trying to tell me, I had to backtrack and read the previous verses in this passage (2 Corinthians 3:12-18).

Therefore, since we have such hope, we use great boldness of speech—unlike Moses, who put a veil over his face so that the children of Israel could not look steadily at the end of what was passing away. But their minds were blinded. For until this day the same veil remains unlifted in the reading of the Old Testament, because the veil is taken away in Christ. But even to this day, when Moses is read, a veil lies on their heart. Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

After reading this, I realized what God was trying to tell me.

Stuck between two verses in the passage is a verse that does not seem to fit.

Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

Did you catch it?

“Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.”

For years now, I have fought this internal battle of my mind in terms of “I don’t look good enough”, “I’m not smart enough”, “I don’t fit in”, and other self-damaging phrases.  And as I look forward to my Class Reunion (25 years) this weekend, I can’t help to feel those phrases stirring within me, bringing back some harsh High School memories that I created for myself.

It’s times like this God reveals to me Who He is and I believe this is what God wants to tell me.

The question came to mind; When I look in the mirror (and we all do), what image do I see?

Do I see a person who has a veil over her face, hiding from the world who she really is?

Or

Do I see a person who has turned to the Lord and allowed Him to Unveil her face?

Because, if I have turned to the Lord, I am Free.  Free from the self-damaging phrases.  Free from thinking “I’m not good enough.”  Free from “I’m not Smart Enough.”  Free from “I don’t look good enough.”

FREE – with An Unveiled Face.

So, this weekend as I face the mirror of my past, I will go with an Unveiled Face.

I am not the same person I was in High School.  I am not the same person I was Yesterday.  I hope to not be tomorrow, the same person I am today because . . . in turning to the Lord . . . where the Spirit of the Lord is . . . there is Liberty.

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon Me,
Because the Lord has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.”

Allowing Him to Unveil my Face,

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Unveiled Face

  1. Melissa Skordoulis says:

    Beautiful! Hope you have a wonderful time at the reunion. You were beautiful then. And even more so now! Miss you!

  2. This is powerful, Lorna. I’m left with tears. So beautiful–this post, and you!!! Can’t wait ’til tomorrow night. Laying all trepidation down with you.

  3. Dianne says:

    Lorna, this is a wonderful post. I have been reading it over and over. I hope you have a wonderful class reunion. I am glad you are in my life, because your post always makes me think. Glad you are “FREE.”

  4. Pingback: Ever Increasing Glory | iwanttobelieveingod

Leave a Reply

