Returning

Sorry I didn’t post last week – Caleb’s been sick and we go back to the doctor today (stomach bug and bronchitis).  Anyway, I thought I’d let you know what’s been on my heart lately.

About a month or so ago, I wrote a post about me Returning back to Church (The Sweet Potato) and since then I’ve been pretty steady about going.  But I’m not just going to Church, I joined the Ladies’ Group on Wednesday nights and I’m attending a Ladies’ Bible Study on Thursday mornings – so I’d say I’m starting to put down roots.

But what’s more important is that I Returned.  I Returned to Church.  I found that the more I stayed away – the more I felt like I was slipping away from God.  He must have felt the same way as well, because He drew me back.  He wanted me to return.

Must be happening a lot lately – people leaving the Church and not wanting to Return.  Whether they left because they were unhappy with the way the “Church Service” was run or if they left because they didn’t “like” the Preacher.  For those who have left, each reason was good enough in their minds to leave the Church.

But God wants us in community with one another.  He wants us to support one another – to LOVE one another.

This Returning to Church must be on God’s mind as well.  Last week at Bible Study, one of the women spoke about talking with someone who was a “Christian” yet wasn’t in Church.  Then yesterday, one of my favorite authors wrote a Letter to those Over 40 who have left the Church asking us to Return.  It’s beautifully written and makes some valid points.  (Click here to read the letter and make sure you read the comments as well.)

So today, if you’ve left the Church (Please read Margaret’s letter), I can understand why and how you feel the way you do.  However, take it from me, it’s not worth staying out.  RETURN.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Returning

  1. MsCaol says:

    I was one that had left the church – for many many years. It was a roller coaster life style, much that I am certainly NOT proud of. BUT, it was after I had, or thought I had, a good life…settled, financially secure, abundant in ‘things’ that God started calling me…I had an empty feeling..a something more feeling. I found my church through a friend, & forever am grateful AS the worst was around the corner…there was a purpose for me to be there. It got me through it on stable feet, solid ground. God is the answer to everything we will come through.I cannot imagine not being in chuch

  2. Thank you for your commitment to the Bride, Lorna and MsCaol.

  3. Chris Jordan says:

    Thanks for this great post, and for sharing your heart in it. Church fellowship is such an important part of our growth and strength as believers – as members of the family of God. I’m glad to hear you’re back in church! Blessings to you today…

Leave a Reply

