Thanksgiving and Mondays

First I want to say

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

to all my readers – I am Thankful for you – may you be blessed in all you do.

Now, Thanksgiving and Mondays!

I’m sure you’re thinking, “Thanksgiving is on Thursday, what is she talking about?”

Well, it’s Thanksgiving week and Today is Monday.  One of the most “hated” days in every week.  It’s the start of the work week, the day kids go back to school after the weekend, and the day moms clean house after having the kids home all weekend.  It’s a Monday.

Mondays.

But this is a day we should be Thankful for . . . it’s a day that God called Good.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.  The earth was without form, and void; and darkness wason the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. Then God said, ‘Let there be light’; and there was light. And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness. God called the light Day, and the darkness He called Night. So the evening and the morning were the first day.” (Genesis 1:1-5, NKJV, emphasis mine)

Now I know that the first day was probably not a “Monday” as we call it in our calendar but humor me – Monday is the day we consider the “first day” of the work week.  It’s a day that God worked and He called it Good.  It’s a day that He created the difference between Light and Dark.  The day He separated Day and Night.  A Day to be Thankful for.

I could spend all morning looking up verses that reference “Thankfulness” and even write about being “Thankful.”  But, with Thursday being Thanksgiving, I’d like to challenge you to be Thankful for Mondays.

Being Thankful on a Monday should not be hard – it’s not the dreaded “ugggghhh” we speak when we wake up.  It’s not the “Do I have to go to work?” speech we give ourselves when we would rather stay at home and sleep.  I know for my kids, especially Caleb, Mondays are always the hardest.

So the thought for today is – What about Monday’s are you Thankful for?

For me it’s Giving Thanks for this day – a day that God called Good – a day that God prepared me for on my day of rest.  It’s a day that I can show the world that I am separate from the darkness.  A day that I can be the Light.  A day that Thanksgiving can flow from all I do.

May today be a Thankful Monday for you as well.

Happy Thanksgiving,

{Lorna}

This image may be obtained as a free wallpaper for your desktop at www.crosscards.com under Christian Wallpaper – November. (Click here for a direct link to it.)
About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Just Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thanksgiving and Mondays

  1. Diana says:

    What a terrific idea. We should be thankful for all days that we are able to praise and thank God for our blessings even when it is hard.

  2. Amen Lorna. Thanks for the attitude adjustment we all need sometimes.

  3. Dianne says:

    What a wonderful idea! I Thank the Lord for every day that I have here on earth. I like Monday nights, because we have a wonderful Bible Study at Church. But now will welcome Monday morning too! Lorna may you and your family have a blessed “Thanksgiving”.

  4. MsCarol says:

    Mondays have always been my favorite day….they were the day that was MINE after two days of people under foot (I was lucky enough to be a stay at home mom for the first 11yrs of marriage when my kids were young) I have always enjoyed working so that didn’t bother me when I had to start after a divorce (I did hate not being home when my kids came home in the afternoon tho). BUT, looking at it through your eyes has made it even better… special. Thank you for this post.

  5. Pingback: Blessed Thanksgiving | Mrs. City Boy

Leave a Reply

