Mountain Warriors

Long.  Dark.  Winter.

Those were the words I used to respond to a Twitter friend’s tweet:  “Explain in three words the last few months of your life.”

I knew as soon as I typed them how serious my condition had become.  It has been a Long, Dark, Winter.

Long. Dark. Winter.

For some, those words bring relief; but to those who suffer from depression they can be life changing.  And they have been.

Usually, winters in South Louisiana are mild (sunny days with chilly temperatures).  However, this year, we have had more than our share of cold, rainy days.  Gloomy days.  Gray skies.  (And)  Weeks with no sunshine.

These types of winters take a toll on me physically.  They drag me down into a world where I already feel the gloom mentally, climbing out seems like it is impossible.

Yet, I have Mountain Warriors.

Yes, I said “Mountain Warriors.”

After years of dealing with depression and struggling through seasons of life where my body does not have the energy to get off the couch, I realized that I am not alone.  I have Mountain Warriors.

Let me explain.

On Sunday, February 24, my church had what they called an “Overflow” service.  It was a time set aside (an extra service so to say) of praise and worship along with prayer time.  My friend Rena of {Insert Grace Here} and I were sitting beside each other.  She had no clue what I was doing bent over in my chair.  But God did.

Bent over, the only thing I could do was listen.  Listen for God’s voice, Listen to God’s voice.

And He spoke all right.  {Well, actually showed, but I will take it.}

This is what I saw.

I am down in the valley, this time the Valley of Depression, and I am by a river.  The water is flowing and I am just sitting there.  He asks me to look up.

I look up and see them.  Yes, them – the Mountain Warriors.  And, with that, I know that I am not alone in this valley.  I have warriors protecting me.

With a glimmer of hope, I get up, thankful for God’s protection, and go home.

However, God did not just leave it at that.  We all know (or should know) that God confirms His Words with His Word.

This Lent, my friend Margaret Feinberg gave a challenge.  Read the Bible in 40 days.  Yes, 40 days.  I took her up on it and since Ash Wednesday, I have been following her plan of reading the Bible in 40 days.  It has been great – I love it – Especially when I get to my reading for Wednesday, February 27.

Our reading for this day was 2 Kings 6 – 1 Chronicles 10.

Imagine my excitement when I read these words from 2 Kings 6:13- 17 (NKJV; emphasis mine):

So he said, “Go and see where he is, that I may send and get him.”  And it was told him, saying, “Surely he is in Dothan.”  Therefore he sent horses and chariots and a great army there, and they came by night and surrounded the city. And when the servant of the man of God arose early and went out, there was an army, surrounding the city with horses and chariots. And his servant said to him, “Alas, my master! What shall we do?”

So he answered, “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” And Elisha prayed, and said, “Lord, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.” Then the Lord opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw. And behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

Mountain Warriors.

Yes, I have Mountain Warriors fighting for me and protecting me.  I am under His care.

Since then, I have placed the battle in His hands.  I have recognized that I truly am not in this alone.  And even though I may experience the physical symptoms of depression and the battle I fight, the Battle is Spiritual and must be fought on a Spiritual level.

I am not fully 100% but thanks to the grace and love shown to me by my friend Rena, I am getting there.  Depression is no laughing matter.  It HURTS.  It hurts me, it hurts my family, and it hurts my friends.  It turns me into someone I am not.

Nevertheless, there is help.  These are some ways I have found that work.

  • Read God’s Word:  This is of the utmost importance.  Especially the Psalms.
  • Pray.  Prayer is hard during these times. I get that.  Sometimes, the only thing I can say is “Help.”
  • Eat right and exercise:  I get “lazy” in this area but when I am exercising, I find that my body does much better fighting the battle.
  • Find a friend (like my friend Rena) who will not condemn you but will lovingly listen and offer prayer.
  • There is no shame in admitting you are depressed.  I have recently come across this series of essays written by Shaun Groves {thanks again Rena} that provide insight into his battle with depression and how God brought him through this season of his life.  Reading how others got through the battle can offer help and hope.
  • Depression is a serious mental and physical issue.  There are times when a person needs the assistance of the medical community.  There is no shame in that.  I have been there – though not this time.  If you are dealing with depression {especially with suicidal thoughts}, Please, Please speak to your doctor or call a Crisis Intervention Center. {Information here about depression from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention}

Saying all that – I want you to know – YOU WILL GET THROUGH THIS!  At times, the struggle seems extra hard – on those days, call a friend, or take a walk.

My fight is not over – I will battle daily – but I am not alone – I have MOUNTAIN WARRIORS!

After all, “If God is for us, who can be against us.”  {Romans 8:31}  You will be okay – you have Mountain Warriors protecting you.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mountain Warriors

  1. Thanks for the shout out Lorna! Praying for strength for you today!

  2. Rena Gunther says:

    So encouraging!!! Lorna, your struggle is turning into a beautiful gift that will no doubt help others. I am in awe of God. I’m blessed by YOUR friendship! I see beauty. Lorna, your Jesus is showing. 😉

  3. Pingback: THEN | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

