Scars

There is a one inch scar on my face.  One the doctor said would not be there.  One I received after flying into a 2×4 holding my swing set down.  One that others don’t seem to notice but one I see daily.

There’s pain in that scar.

There’s two other scars on my body that are hidden but people know about – they are the ones which allowed my sons to come into this world.  They are a reminder of the love that I look at daily.  There’s pain in those scars. But there’s also joy in those scars.

Nevertheless . . . it’s not the physical scars that cause me to write today.  It’s the wounds that are deep within my heart; the ones that only I know about that have yet to become scars.

Since my last post, I’ve reconnected {via Facebook only} with not only my Aunt but several of my cousins.  I’ve enjoyed catching up with them and seeing their lives play out in front of me.  I’ve enjoyed seeing my cousin anticipate her grand-baby and the ability to “watch” a Football game with my Aunt even though we are thousands of miles apart.  I’ve enjoyed “chatting” with my cousin about music, the civil war, and other things.

My Aunt in particular has played an important part in my healing process.  With her postings of things I did not know about my dad and his side of the family she has stitched together some of my missing childhood. {A sure sign of forgiveness is not getting mad or upset about hearing “good” things about someone who has hurt you.}  It’s because of things like that some of the wounds from my earlier years of life started to itch. {Note:   this is a good thing.}

Wounds and Scars

I’ve often wondered why Jesus’ body was not completely “Whole” – void of the places where the nails were put into His hands and feet – where the sword was struck into His side.

“Then He said to Thomas, ‘Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side.’” John 20:24-27 NKJV

Then I remember the scar on my face – the daily reminder that something happened to me as a child – the one that no matter how hard I try to cover it up – it is still there.

Scars are areas of fibrous tissue (fibrosis) that replace normal skin after injury. A scar results from the biological process of wound repair in the skin and other tissues of the body. Thus, scarring is a natural part of the healing process. With the exception of very minor lesions, every wound (e.g. after accident, disease, or surgery) results in some degree of scarring”

Thinking back to the day I received the wound on my face I’ve come to appreciate some of the pain Jesus endured.  As I child, I thought I was “dying”.  My dad was at home and I was playing on the merry-go-round he modified for my sister and me.  The handles on the original set broke and he fixed it with a set of wooden handles.  The neighbor across the street was pushing (faster than the thing should be going) me and my sister on it when the handle broke and I went flying across the yard hitting the 2×4, busting my cheek wide open – barely missing my eye socket {a miracle in itself} but we did not know that until the doctor looked at it.

Thankfully my dad had an ambulance at the house that day (he was a member of a rescue unit for our local fire department) so we took it to the hospital (yes, lights and all).  I don’t remember much of the hospital visit except the doctor putting the stitches in and telling me that “No, there won’t be a scar.”

Scars

My scars. Jesus’ scars.  They are one in the same.  They are a reminder that something happened.  But, they are also a reminder that healing has taken place.  They are there so others can see that healing has taken place.

The healing process for a scar to occur sometimes is a long one.  In the case of the one on my face, there were stitches (but sometimes just a Band-Aid is needed).  I remember my mom would clean the wound and place an ointment on it and tell me not to scratch it.  Eventually, with time, the stitches came out and what’s left is a scar.

The scar I look at daily.

Why do I tell you these things?

It’s because I finally believe that the wounds – wounds of a painful childhood, wounds of a painful divorce, wounds of grief, wounds of sorrow – in my heart that began itching are in the process of becoming scars.

Jesus told Thomas to touch His “scars” – those places in His hand and feet where the nails that hung Him on the Cross were.  To put his hand in the “Scar” on His side where the soldier struck Him with the sword to “confirm” He was dead (John 19:31-37).

I believe Jesus’ body was not “perfectly restored to His original body – no scars” because it is a reminder for us to believe in Him.  His scars mean that even though pain (His death) took place – physical healing also took place (His resurrection).  Believing in Jesus means Healing – Spiritual and Emotional – within us can and will take place.

When I look at the scar on my face and body, I know the wounds are healed.

When I look at the wounds in my heart, I can know that those wounds will become scars.  But not without the healing process which includes Stitches and Ointment.

Stitches and Ointment

Stitches – those people the Lord has placed in my life to bring healing words and encouragement.  {Note:  stitches either dissolve or are taken out; it’s this way with people, some “dissolve into our lives becoming a permanent part or get taken out, only to be there for short amount of time.}

Ointment – the most important healing agent – God’s Word.   This year, I’ve read through God’s Word twice.  It’s through those readings that God’s healing Words have acted as an antibiotic bring healing to the hurt and pain.

Not to say that some wounds heal immediately but I know in time the Scars will come.  I’ve recently come to realize that my scars are meant for good not harm.  By Grace I’ll be allowed to show others not only my scars but the Scars of Jesus as well.  Today, I can now look at the scar on my face and not want to cover it up – but allow it to be a witness of Jesus’ healing.

“But He was wounded for our transgressions,
He was bruised for our iniquities;
The chastisement for our peace was upon Him,
And by His stripes we are healed.” Isaiah 53:5 NKJV

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scars

  1. Mary Ballard says:

    As I read your last two blogs I was so happy to hear that you reconnected. Many people complain about the bad in technology like Facebook but I find myself more thankful for it than ever. Finding them was a huge step and now you can stay connected with their every post, no matter how minute. Praying that you find answers and forgiveness for a broken childhood. May it also be a reminder of the great woman that your mother has been for you every day! Love you

  2. Pingback: Drained and Scarred | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Leave a Reply

