Communion

It’s been a couple of years since I’ve been in Church on Easter.  Every year my heart says to go but my mind would tell my heart otherwise . . . and the battle would begin.  Most years my mind usually wins.

This year was different.

This year my heart won.

This year I find myself questioning things I believe and leaning into the Word to find the answers.  {Let me make this clear – my faith and belief in Jesus Christ, His Birth, Death, and Resurrection has not wavered and is stronger than ever.} I find myself being frustrated with things {mostly about myself} that have never bothered me before – wondering if I’m crazy or is God trying to tell me something.

It might be that I am crazy or God is trying to tell me something.  Either way – this Easter, sitting in Church – I’m listening.

Listening to the church members gather before service.  Listening to the children play in the toddler room.

While listening to the words of the songs being sung this Resurrection Day, something deep within my heart began stirring.  Although my mind was with my son’s girlfriend who was at the hospital waiting to go into surgery for appendicitis, my heart was split between the two places.

Listening to the words of a father who just lost his six month old baby girl.  As I sat listening to the words that God gave this father to give to the Church and Community – most of which brought tears to my eyes – things began to make sense.  Death is defeated {and this wasn’t just the sermon title}. I realized that no matter what my problems are – Jesus conquered them at His death. He is the answer.

Then it was time for Communion.

That moment – the sacrament – that brings the reality of Christ’s Birth and Death into my personal life.  That moment when I take of His blood and body – the bread and the wine – and remember the sacrifice of Jesus dying on the Cross. 

Communion

I’ve taken Communion many times – each time is different – yet each time is the same.

Until this Easter Sunday – April 20, 2014.

Since this was the first time I’ve taken Communion at this Church, I wasn’t sure how they were going to do it.  It was fairly simple.  They had the elements arranged nicely – bread in a basket, juice in cups on three-tiered bakery stands.  Simple, yet beautiful.  After the blessing, the pastor asked everyone to form two lines and to pick up a piece of bread and cup of juice.  Then, we could join with others or take it by ourselves.  We could be at the altar or in our chair.  It was our decision.

I choose today to take it by myself – in my chair.

As I sat down and thought about what today represented – I thought things were going well.  No major revelations and I think my heart is in the right place.  So I place the bread in my mouth and begin chewing.

I’ll never forget what came next.  Not just because I felt comfortable where I was at and what I was doing – it’s what I heard, felt, and realized as I sat there and chewed what represented the Body of Christ.

It’s a feeling I can’t quite put in words – but the realization that I was “chewing” the bread and hearing Christ tell me that my “chewing” of the bread {His Body} was my sins He carried to the Cross with Him.  That’s hard to swallow – just as I had a hard time swallowing that piece of bread.

Then came the cup – the juice that represented the Blood of Christ.

This I look forward to each time I take communion.  Today was no exception.  Except this time was different.

After my realization with the bread, drinking of the cup meant so much more.  It meant that because of Jesus’ sacrifice on the Cross – the blood that He shed – Death is Defeated – but more importantly my sins are washed clean.  They are covered in His Blood.  His Blood washed away my “chewing”.

There’s no greater feeling than Listening and Hearing God’s Voice as it comes through Scripture, through Song, through a Sermon, through Communion.

I may never hear or feel the same thing again when I take Communion. That’s Okay.  Today was special.  It’s what I needed to hear.  It’s what I needed to know.  It’s what I feel we all need to hear, know, and remember – that Jesus died and took our sins to the Cross with Him.  He defeated Death.  His resurrection assures us of His cleaning of our sins – whereby we can spend Eternity with Him.

I can tell you the rest of my Easter day was different.  Even as I discussed different things with my son about him getting a truck.  Even as I sat at the hospital waiting for a surgery to be over {she’s okay}.  Even as I at Easter lunch with my family.  Even as I struggled throughout the day with certain things – I had peace. Even now as I type this (at 1:30 am in the morning) there’s a peace.

A peace knowing He Loves Me.  A peace knowing He Forgives Me.

And, a peace knowing He Loves and Forgives You!

Communion – His Body and His Blood – Shed for You and Me – With Love.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Communion

  1. Dianne says:

    Lorna,
    I too had trouble taking communion, I felt I was not good enough to take it. I was not aware of the true meaning of doing so. I have learned a great deal from Pastor Lester, God took my place and yours on the cross, our names should have been there. He died for us, and took all our sins away. I am grateful that I can and will continue to honor Jesus, by being able to take communion the rest of my life.
    I love you and admire you.
    Dianne

Leave a Reply

