Even From Behind – He Turns

Ever read something so powerful it stops you from what you’re doing with such a force you can’t help but take notice.  Well, this happened to me this morning.

As I was finishing up the last day of the Bible Study I am working on and the instructions were to read Luke 7:36-50.

Now most of us know this passage as being the “Alabaster Box” story where the sinful woman anointed Jesus’ feet with oil and received forgiveness.  I’ve even written about it before here on this blog {She Followed Me}.  CeCe Winans sings a powerful song about it as well {Alabaster Box}.  And it’s that song that I was thinking about while I was reading the passage this morning.

When suddenly it hit me what Jesus had actually done – took my breath away actually.

If you know my personal story, you will know that I struggle with certain issues from my past.  There’s this one thing in my past that “haunts” me.  It has kept me from fully going to Jesus at times {well, most of the time}.  It has kept me from “worshiping” Jesus with my “all of my heart.”  It is something that scares the daylights out of me when I think about it.

However, God as been dealing with me for awhile now about it.  Then this morning happens.

Read the passage with me:

Then one of the Pharisees asked Him to eat with him. And He went to the Pharisee’s house, and sat down to eat.  And behold, a woman in the city who was a sinner, when she knew that Jesus sat at the table in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster flask of fragrant oil,  and stood at His feet behind Him weeping; and she began to wash His feet with her tears, and wiped them with the hair of her head; and she kissed His feet and anointed them with the fragrant oil.  Now when the Pharisee who had invited Him saw this, he spoke to himself, saying, “This Man, if He were a prophet, would know who and what manner of woman this is who is touching Him, for she is a sinner.”

And Jesus answered and said to him, “Simon, I have something to say to you.”

So he said, “Teacher, say it.”

“There was a certain creditor who had two debtors. One owed five hundred denarii, and the other fifty.  And when they had nothing with which to repay, he freely forgave them both. Tell Me, therefore, which of them will love him more?”

Simon answered and said, “I suppose the one whom he forgave more.”

And He said to him, “You have rightly judged.”  Then He turned to the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave Me no water for My feet, but she has washed My feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head.  You gave Me no kiss, but this woman has not ceased to kiss My feet since the time I came in.  You did not anoint My head with oil, but this woman has anointed My feet with fragrant oil.  Therefore I say to you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven, for she loved much. But to whom little is forgiven, the same loves little.”

Then He said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.”

And those who sat at the table with Him began to say to themselves, “Who is this who even forgives sins?”

Then He said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you. Go in peace.”  (Luke 7:36-50, NKJV)

As you read through it, you might have thought of CeCe’s song like me.  It was only after I read it again – focusing on each verse – that the Holy Spirit showed me what He wanted me to see.

I’m going to try to paint a mental picture of the scene for you.

Jesus arrives at the Pharisee’s house to have dinner with him.  After entering the home, Jesus reclines on the ground with His feet behind Him.  Obviously He is reclined at a table with the meal already prepared and others are around Him.  {There’s no way someone can be in front of Him.}

With that in mind, re-read this passage:

And behold, a woman in the city who was a sinner, when she knew that Jesus sat at the table in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster flask of fragrant oil, and stood at His feet behind Him weeping; and she began to wash His feet with her tears, and wiped them with the hair of her head; and she kissed His feet and anointed them with the fragrant oil.

Now re-read this passage:

Then He turned to the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave Me no water for My feet, but she has washed My feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head.

It was the power of the Holy Spirit using two little words that knocked the breath out of me.

Behind and Turned.

Behind.

I don’t know if it was CeCe’s song or if I had just skipped over the part of how Jesus was reclined at the table.  Maybe I thought He was seated at the end of the table but for some reason I have always believed that the woman approached Him from the front.

Nope.  She was so afraid of her “unclean past” that she couldn’t face Him.  {As I was reading in another Bible translation I had, I must have heard about this before because I underlined those same two words. But, we all know that it’s only when the Holy Spirit wants to teach us something that we will truly see what He wants us to see.} So she approaches Him and stands Behind Him.  I now can picture her sitting on the ground hiding behind Him while she breaks open her box and pours the oil on his feet while washing them with her hair and rinsing them with her tears.

It’s amazing how the The Holy Spirit works.  A couple of weeks ago I  attended a church where my friend Nicole was giving the sermon that morning and she made the comment that (sorry Nicole, I could remember your exact words so this is my interpretation of what you said) “It’s only after we have sat down at the table that Jesus washes our feet {referring to when Jesus took off his towel and washed the disciples’ feet and Peter didn’t want Jesus to wash his}.  I stuck her words in the back of my mind, left, and went to watch Gone with the Wind at the theater.  I didn’t fully understand why the Holy Spirit made me remember those words . . . until today . . . thank you Nicole.

Nevertheless, I feel her fear (and Peter’s).  I am the same way.  I am so afraid of my “unclean past” I can’t face Him at times. I can’t understand how and why Jesus would want to wash my feet and cleanse me of my sins – that sin.  However, it’s the next word which brought me comfort and peace – a sense of “forgiveness” I have never felt before.

Turned.

“Then He turned to the woman . . . “

Imagine being behind Jesus having just poured your most expensive possession upon him, crying until there are no more tears, yet still being afraid because the other men in the room are saying stuff about you when Jesus Turns around and faces you speaking the words you never knew you needed to hear.

“Your sins are forgiven.”

She was Forgiven.

Jesus turned to her and told – not only the other people in the room – but told her heart through her eyes that she was Forgiven.

Forgiven!!!

She was forgiven! You are forgiven! {Grasp that thought, really grasp it deep down in your heart.}

Earlier this week while listening to Patty, my Bible Study Fellowship teaching leader, speak about the Passover in Exodus, she said something which struck a chord with me.  She said, “The sins that are under the Blood of the Lamb will never haunt us again.”

The “sinful woman with the alabaster box” was forgiven right on the spot – well, because she was told those words by Jesus Himself.  But for us, it’s because of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus Christ {Passover} that “the sins that are under the Blood of the Lamb will never haunt us again.”  It’s because of the Blood of the Lamb that our sins are forgiven.  {Thank You Jesus.}

So, if you’re like me and you’ve approached Jesus from Behind, know that He will Turn to you, look you straight in the eyes, and tell you – YOU ARE FORGIVEN.

Will you approach Him?  Will you ask for forgiveness – He will give it.  {And yes, it can be from the front as well.}

Even from Behind – He will turn – He does Forgive.

If you want to listen to CeCe’s song – click here.

 ~ Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Just Life, Music, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Even From Behind – He Turns

  1. Carol says:

    Awesome.That is oh so powerful. Something I needed to hear…and yes, I have read the passage many times & heard it preached. I will never see it the same. Thank You

  2. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    Well written Lorna, isn’t God good? All the time!

Leave a Reply

