Hope{ful} Advent{ure}

“And now, Lord, what do I wait for? My hope is in You.” Psalm 39:7 NKJV

It’s the season of Advent.  A four-week period before Christmas and is often a time of prayer and fasting.  Advent, according to Wikipedia, is “a season observed in many Western Christian churches as a time of expectant waiting and preparation for the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus at Christmas. The term is an anglicized version of the Latin word adventus, meaning ‘coming,’”  It’s celebrated by lighting a different candle each Sunday with the last candle being lit on Christmas {which is the Christ Candle}. For the past several years I’ve participated in Advent either by lighting candles at home or attending a church that does.  This year is no exception.  However, this year, I find myself on a Hope{ful} Advent{ure}.

Hope.  It’s the first candle in the Advent wreath.  To Hope is “to want something to happen or be true and think that it could happen or be true” (Merriam-Webster online).  Holman Bible Dictionary defines Hope as a “Trustful expectation, particularly with reference to the fulfillment of God’s promises.”

Take those two definitions and put them together and you get a Hope{ful} Advent{ure}.

Let me explain.

This year as I anticipate celebrating the Birth of Jesus on Christmas Day, I find my heart longing for and waiting for His Second Coming.  I guess I find myself thinking more and more about this Advent{ure} I’m on because I’m studying the Life of Moses in my Bible Study Fellowship class.  We are almost to point in time where the Israelites will begin their Advent{ure} to the Promise Land.  A land flowing with milk and honey.  A land they thought they could easily conquer.  Not so.

Advent{ure} – just by definition alone is scary.  An Advent{ure} is “an undertaking usually involving danger and unknown risks; the encountering of risks; an exciting or remarkable experience.” True, the Israelites got all that and more and that was even before they entered the promise land. But how does this relate to our Hope{ful} Advent{ure}?

Simple.  The Israelites were Hope{ful} – they had a trustful expectation that God would fulfill His promise.  It took them 40 years but eventually the day they waited for arrived.  They entered the Promise Land.

Today our Hope{ful} Advent{ure} looks different.  Though we are not circling the wilderness for 40 years [although at times it feels like that], we are on an Advent{ure} to the Heavenly Promise Land.  An Advent[ure} that is filled with danger at times and certainly unknown risks.  But at the same time, it is an exciting and remarkable experience.

This is what I Hope for today.  An Hope{ful} Advent{ure}.  Because Hope does not disappoint (Romans 5:5) I know that He will guide us as we traverse this wilderness land we’re in.  And because I want Jesus to come back – I place my Hope in Him.  To say that is a Trustful Expectation knowing God will fulfill that promise makes it an Advent{ure}.

So, this Advent Season as we prepare to celebrate the Birth of Christ, may our hearts be turned toward the anticipation and expectation of Jesus coming again.  This time, not as a Baby in a Manager, but as God in all His Glory and then we really are in for a Hope{ful} Advent{ure].

“Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the Lord.” Psalm 31:24 NKJV {Emphasis added}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hope{ful} Advent{ure}

  1. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    Keep hoping!

Leave a Reply

