It’s a {New} Year

Happy New Year!!!

I hope your Christmas was great.  Mine was!

I’m writing this New Year post to “set-in-stone” some of my goals for this year.  It’s been a while since I’ve written more than just here and there and one of my goals this year is to write more.  I started this blog as a way to express what God put on my heart.  The title remains the same – Follow2Serve – because my heart’s desire is to always Follow Jesus to Serve Him.  The blog content will change some – becoming sometimes like a journal other times like a devotional reading and other times just something God puts on my heart to tell you.  There might  be pictures, videos, or music.  My prayer is that what ever you may read or see here will bless you.

As to those goals, here they are.

This year I’m making a commitment to in grain into my heart 24 Scriptures.  I will be following along and posting with Beth Moore’s Siesta Scripture Memory Team.  Today is the first day (if you’d like to join me, Beth, thousands of other women – click here to read today’s posting by Beth). As my first verse, I’ve chosen 2 Corinthians 5:17 –

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away, behold, all things have become new.” (NKJV)

It’s fitting considering this is the start of a new year (2015) but also because I believe we are new creations in Christ and I must remember that what’s in my past is in my past.

Some of my other goals are to begin and end my day in Scripture (didn’t happen this morning).  I’m doing this by reading two different one-year reading Bibles.  The first one is “Reading God’s Story” a chronological Daily Bible, which will be read in the morning.  The second one is “Everyday with Jesus Bible” a one-year reading Bible, to be read in the evening.  They are written using the Holman Christian Standard translation/version. This version is new to me bringing new thoughts and insight to God’s Word.

My other goals this year are simple {well, maybe}:  create 15 quilts, create 15 yarn projects (either by crocheting them or knitting them), read 15 books, and finally learn something new {I’m going to learn to embroidery}.  Of course there are the standard “resolutions” – eat healthy, lose weight, exercise more, less social media, etc.  But my personal goal is to be a better person on December 31, 2015 than I am on January 1, 2015.  This can only be by change through reading God’s Word and allowing Him to change me.

I hope you’ve made some goals this New Year as well.  You’re welcome to list them in the comments and maybe we can help each other along the way.  I’m praying that this year will bring to you, comfort and joy, spiritual growth, and happiness.  God Bless you and thank you for another year to give my heart to you.

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Just Life, SSMT and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a {New} Year

  1. Carol says:

    Beautifully said.. Wonderful goals. I think we are all ready for new beginnings.

Leave a Reply

