Maybe, Just Maybe

Last night while reading Primal Fire: Reigniting the Church with the Five Gifts of Jesus by Neil Cole my heart stopped after seeing this:

“So why did Jesus ask the question?  He always asked questions because it drew out confessions from people.  Confession results in healing, and Jesus is always about healing people in every way possible.” Primal Fire, Pages 25-25

Cole is writing in this section about Jesus being the Archetypal Shepherd and using the example of the woman caught in adultery who was brought to the temple to be stoned. The scribes and Pharisees asked Jesus, who was teaching in the Temple at the time,  what He had to say about her being stoned since the law commanded she be stoned for committing adultery.

Needing to refresh my mind of the event, I turned John 8:1-11 and read.  There’s been a lot of discussion about what Jesus actually wrote in the sand that day and most people tend to think that He was writing the sins of the people in the crowd, considering He had told them “He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first.”  I have often thought the same thing.

However, last night God showed me something else.  We all read the Bible in light of our past and our own circumstances surrounding the events in our lives.  I can fully understand what the woman was going through, what she was feeling, her fear and aloneness; although our stories/sin are different, like her, I still have sinned.  But this is where Jesus comes in.

The thought entered my heart that Maybe, Just Maybe, Jesus was not writing the sins of the crowd.  Maybe, Just Maybe, He was writing something to HER!  It quickened my heart so much I texted my friend Rena, of Insert Grace Here.  {Had to tell someone!}

So Maybe, Just Maybe, Jesus did write something in the sand to her.  It got me thinking, if He did, what would it say.

Maybe, Just Maybe, He wrote.

I see you.  I see your heart.  I see your pain.  I am here for you. You are not alone. I love you.  Yes, you sinned.  But, I still love you.  I know you.  Come to Me.  Give Me your pain.  Give Me your fears.  Give Me your hurts.

Jesus quits writing.  He stands and asks her “Woman, where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?”  Her answer:  “No one, Lord.”

No one left to accuse her.  Maybe, Just Maybe, they read what He wrote in the sand to her. She had just confessed to Jesus that no one was there to accuse her.  And neither would He.

I can tell you that I have been there –  Hearing accusations from people – accusing my self.

Maybe, Just Maybe, I need to read what Jesus wrote to me.

I see you.  I see your heart.  I see your pain.  I am here for you. You are not alone. I love you. Yes, you sinned. But, I still love you.  I know you. Come to Me. Give Me your pain. Give Me your fears. Give Me your hurts.  Confess to Me your sins.  Confess to Me that since I don’t condemn you – no one else can – and neither can you.  But, “Go and sin no more.”

Jesus died so we could make that confession.  It has taken me years to understand this.  So Maybe, Just Maybe, you too can read what He wrote – whether He may have written the sins of the people who were accusing her or the loving comments intended for the woman or even both {He did write in the sand twice} – if you [I] have sinned, He will not condemn us [me].  He Loves us.  He died for Us.

So, No matter what He wrote, confess the sin – it brings healing and grace as well – but, go and sin no more – You’re forgiven – I’m Forgiven.  Jesus Loves You.

~Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books, Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

