Gingerbread Cookies

Gingerbread CookiesI know – Christmas was last month but who says you can’t have Gingerbread Cookies in January? I did! And along the way God taught me something.

According to my sons {and myself} I am not a baker. I can’t bake. Cookies, Pie, Breads – I just can’t seem to not burn them.  Most of the time I do pretty well with the brownies not burning; but most of my cookies come from the refrigerated Pillsbury or Nestle pre-mixed dough packages where I just open the package, place them on a cookie sheet and put them in the oven.  However, as I was browsing Pinterest the other day, I came across these Gingerbread Cookies and they reminded me of some my friend gave me last month {trust me – hers are still better than mine}.  So, I decided I’d try my hand at baking some – from scratch!

I was making cornbread to go with the red beans and rice and thought; hmm . . . the oven’s on – Cookie Time!  I gathered my ingredients and set out on an adventure {trust me, my first time doing this – it was an adventure}.  My youngest came in and asked what I was doing.  “Making Cookies” was my response and in the words of one who has eaten way too much burnt stuff he said, “You’ll mess up them up.”

Well, I tossed those words away and proceeded. Guess what . . . I did mess them up – but – they turned out alright and both boys ate them so I guess they weren’t that bad after all {and I didn’t burn them}.

However, it didn’t occur to me what God had taught me until later last night.

God showed me that sometimes in life – we mess up – but He is the Baker.  He mixes all the things in our life together and in the end – IF we let Him – things turn out for the good.  Even when I mess things up {especially being a mom/wife/friend} – there still can be good that comes out of it.  Let that sink in – Even though we sometimes mess things up – there still can be good that comes out of it.  Even though I had not mixed the sugar with the butter before adding the flour and spices and broke my mixer in the process, I was still able to mix them enough to make the dough, place them in the oven, bake them, and viola – Gingerbread Cookies.

God doesn’t see the mess ups in our life – no, what He sees is a beautiful creation along with the pleasant aromas of the offerings of our life {in this case – ginger, cinnamon, molasses, and cloves}.  Those aromas are pleasing to Him.  Trust Him to mix your life with the good and the bad.  Allow Him to bring you through the fire.   Even if one chooses to listen or not listen to the words of the world (the words of my son) – His Hands still guide us. True, we might mess up but it’s not necessary the process but the end results that matter.

So, Who wants cookies? {Maybe next time I’ll make them to look like Gingerbread Men.}

If you’d like the recipe for the cookies – here it is:  Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gingerbread Cookies

  1. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    Keep baking! One of my favorite little books is Always we begin again. This story make me think of it so keep baking and writing good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

