Joyful Sorrow {A Tribute to my Aunt}

“Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16 NJKV

Since January of this year, this Scripture has laid heavy on my heart.  It was one of my first SSMT verses and I have spoken of it often when speaking within my BSF group.  Little did I know it would bring such comfort and joy during a time of deep sorrow and grief.

My grief came early in the morning this past Saturday, March 7, 2015, when my Aunt Vivian boldly approached the throne of grace.  Though she had already received mercy and grace during her time of need, I am pretty sure she was rejoicing and asking Jesus to provide mercy and grace to her family in our time of need.  It was at this throne of grace that her sorrow turned into joy.

My aunt was a beautiful woman.  Not just in looks but in her spirit as well.  Everything she did, she did with love.  As a child, I can remember getting in her car and traveling with her, my mom, and my sister to visit my grandparents in North Louisiana.  My sister and I were not the perfect traveling partners and she would often threaten to stop at one of the small town police stations if we did not behave {note, she threatened my sister more than me}.  It took me years to figure out how she could see us in the back seat – then I had two boys of my own and realized that all she did was flip the rearview mirror from daytime use to nighttime use after adjusting it a certain way.   Clever Aunt Vivian, cleaver.

Throughout my childhood, I spent many a day with her at her house learning, watching, and loving how she would live.  Her house was filled with paintings.  She was an artist.  Her paintings came from what she loved – the place where she grew up and of owls.  She also loved to fish and sew – two things I love to do. During various stages of my teenage and adult life, she was there for me – there when I graduated high school, there when l got married, there for the birth of my sons (even up to her death, she called my oldest Samson though his name is Samuel), there as I went through trials and the things of life.  Her words of advice will always be with me. During the last few years of her life, I would get a phone call before my birthday because she did not want to forget to call me.

But what sticks with me most is her love.  Her love for her family, for me, and for God.  We have had several conversations and I know without a doubt when she passed, she walked boldly to the throne of grace having lived her life to the fullest.  It is this love that brings me a Joyful Sorrow.  A sorrow that has brought grief to my heart.   A sorrow that knowing I cannot pick up the phone and call her any more.  Two weeks ago I was honored to have lunch with her and tell her how much I love her {yes, I am currently crying}; a memory that will be with me forever.

Yet my sorrow turns to joy when I realize that I will see her again one day – fully healed, wearing her brightly colored dresses, dark curled hair, and her red lipstick.  It was this joy the pastor spoke of at her funeral service.

As I said at the beginning, Hebrews 4:16 has been on my heart since January.  I truly believe that during times of sorrow that God provides the greatest of comfort from His word – something my aunt read daily.  This comfort came when the pastor began the service speaking about Hebrews Chapter Four.  I knew then I would be ok – that she was ok.  I knew that He had given me that Scripture because she was a bold woman.  She was a woman of grace and mercy.  And He knew she would come boldly to the throne of Grace.

I am grateful living my life having known Aunt Vivian.  She has blessed me more than she realized.  She is not only missed by me but by her son, daughter-in-law, grandchildren, and other family members and friends.  I am thankful she showed me love and how to love.  I will miss you Aunt Vivian but I know that when it is my time to approach the throne of grace – you will be there.

My Aunt and I on her birthday last year

My Aunt and I on her birthday last year

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joyful Sorrow {A Tribute to my Aunt}

  1. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    Lorna, This comes to me about an hour after my cousin called to tell me his mother is in the hospital and not doing well. She is my last Aunt and one of the ones I have enjoyed most in my life. Her motto was, “Let’s go make a memory!” I will miss her, and yes, I will see her again one day and that is most important. Thank you God for loving Aunts!

Leave a Reply

