On Fire

Years ago I was young and passionate for the things of God.  Then life got in the way.  Several things happened and I slowly lost my passion and my love for things (and people) of the church.  It’s been this way for several years and I’m not afraid to admit that most of the time I don’t want to go.  Yet something, some-One, keeps drawing me back.

But it’s not the church He’s drawing me back to.  It’s Him.

Yes, He is The Church – not a building or a collection of people.  Him – Jesus – The Church.  And today, I quit going to church. {Hear me out}

For years I have blamed things – those things that happened to me – for not wanting to be in church; for not wanting to be around a bunch of people who might hurt me.  Things get rough – I run {just being honest here}.

Then I turn on the radio.

It’s not very often I listen to the radio – usually a cd is playing. But, for weeks now I have forgotten to bring a cd so I’ve had to listen to the radio.  My first station of choice is K-LOVE and today was no exception.

Now, I am a firm believer that God can and will use anything to get His message across to people. For me, it’s music. And today was one of those days He would speak. And would speak loudly.

The words being sung stung.  They hurt. They hurt because I realized they were words being spoken to me.  Words that only God knew I needed to hear.  A prayer only God could hear.  A prayer only God could answer.

“Remember when you couldn’t wait to show up early and find your place. Cause you didn’t want to miss a thing. And your heart was open and ready for change. Oh, those days. You were never afraid to sing, never afraid to lift your hands. Didn’t care what people would think.

You were on fire, and church was more than a place, and people were more than faces, and Jesus was more than a name.”

Just those words by Sanctus Real were enough to send my heart into tears.  True, there was a time when I couldn’t wait to show up early because I didn’t want to miss a thing.  My heart was open and ready for change.  I wasn’t afraid to sing or to lift my hands because I didn’t care what people would think.

Then things happened.  Things I couldn’t control.  Things that I’ve allowed to keep me from thinking church was more than a place and people were more than faces and Jesus was more than a name.

There was a time I was On Fire.

A friend recently told me that there was a glow to my face. {My response was – I have makeup on today.) She said, no, that’s not it – you’ve changed. Well, yes, I have changed.  For several months now I have been going to church and God has used people in that church to remind me that people do care – His people do care.  I’ve also spent several weeks in the Books of Leviticus and Numbers and God has used His Word to heal some heartache I’ve held on to for years.  So when I hear these words, I know . . .

“Turn your eyes, turn your eyes and don’t forget what it was like. Set me on fire, set me on fire. I wanna hold God’s people close, wanna feel the power of Jesus’ name”

. . . I know that it’s God.  It’s God who has changed me because I’ve turned my eyes to Him.  Not to my past but to Him.  It’s Him who is the Church and it’s Him who will set me On Fire.

But wait, that’s not all.  I still quit going to church and I’ll start going to Church.  Here’s why.  It’s because of Him – it’s because His words speaks of this

For you have not come to the mountain that may be touched and that burned with fire, and to blackness and darkness and tempest, and the sound of a trumpet and the voice of words, so that those who heard it begged that the word should not be spoken to them anymore. (For they could not endure what was commanded: “And if so much as a beast touches the mountain, it shall be stoned or shot with an arrow.” And so terrifying was the sight that Moses said, “I am exceedingly afraid and trembling.”)

But you have come to Mount Zion and to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem, to an innumerable company of angels, to the general assembly and church of the firstborn who are registered in heaven, to God the Judge of all, to the spirits of just men made perfect, to Jesus the Mediator of the new covenant, and to the blood of sprinkling that speaks better things than that of Abel. Hebrews 12:18-24 NKJV Emphasis mine.

But more so because of this:

See that you do not refuse Him who speaks. . . . For our God is a consuming fire. (Hebrews 12:25a & 29 NKJV).”

You see, Jesus is The Church.  He is a Consuming Fire.  And He has set His Church on Fire.  I am just a part of it.  True, I will continue to go to church – that physical building with physical beings – But I belong to The Church.  When I go to church, I need to remember that I have come to Mount Zion and to the city of the living God.  Yes, I know that speaks of when we get to Heaven, but isn’t earth our training ground?

So today I told God I quit.  I quit going to church and asked Him to strengthen my hands and feeble knees – To make straight the path for my feet – To help me pursue peace and holiness (Hebrews 12:12-14) in order for me to go to Church. I asked Him to help me not to refuse to listen to Him because He is a consuming fire.

And with that Fire I’ve asked Him to set me On Fire.

Listen to the full song, “On Fire” by Sanctus Real below.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Just Life, Music, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Fire

  1. Elizabeth Bailes says:

    I think we all go through this if we are honest, and you are, and yes, it is God who leads us back.  This is my favorite prayer by a priest who you may have read, Thomas Merton:My Lord God,

    I have no idea where Iam going.

    I do not see the roadahead of me.

    I cannot know forcertain where it will end.

    Nor do I really knowmyself,

    and the fact that Ithink I am following

    your will does notmean

    that I am actuallydoing so.

    But I believe that thedesire to please you

    does in fact pleaseyou.

    And I hope I have thatdesire

    in all that I amdoing.

    I hope that I willnever do anything

    apart from thatdesire.

    And I know that if Ido this

    you will lead me bythe right road

    though I may knownothing about it.

    Therefore I will trustyou always

    though I may seem tobe lost

    and in the shadow ofdeath.

    I will not fear,

    for you are ever withme,

    and you will neverleave me

    to face my perilsalone.

  2. CarolB says:

    Love this post, & the music. I am not a ‘forever’ Christian. Always believed in God & Jesus..but started on the path to become a Christian about 9yrs ago. I think I got the calling because I would have something happen a few years later that without it, I would have been shattered. I admit that there are days now that I wake up & giving thanks is not what I do before my feet hit the floor…but, I do it several times during the day…every day. You are such an inspiration – I love your thoughs & words. Your posts are beautiful. You are one of the blessings I count.

Leave a Reply

