Feeling Invisible?

A couple of Wednesdays ago I was having a rough day – emotionally drained after realizing that I could not see or talk to my Aunt again.  It didn’t help that what seemed like things that were important to me were not important to other people.  Then there’s the whole “Am I the only one who does things around the house?” feeling.  I took to Facebook to express my frustration and just posted as my status “Feeling Invisible”.

Didn’t take long for several friends to respond – making sure I was okay.  Their words of encouragement and care helped but I couldn’t shake the feeling of being invisible. So I do what I always do when I’m stressed – I take a walk in my local botanical garden.

It was there that God spoke.

As I was walking through the rose garden, He pointed out a rose bud and a rose – both on the same stem.  Of course, it was a red one – my Aunt’s favorite color.  As I stopped to “smell the roses”, He directed my eye to the rose bud.

“See that bud there.”

Yes Lord.Rose Bud and Rose

“Its insides are invisible.  No one knows what color or what the flower will look like after it blooms but Me.  No one knows if it will be a perfect rose or one with defects but Me.  No one knows if it will smell or be fragrant free but Me.”

I’m listening Lord.

“You see, You are like the rose bud.  You may feel invisible but you’re not.  I see you! And one day after your growing process is finished I will expose you to the world.  No one knows what your life will be like but Me.  No one knows the struggles you’ve gone through but me. No one knows My plans for you but Me.”

Yes Lord.

Now I am fully aware of who I am in Christ but to hear God speak those words to me that day made me realize that I am not invisible.  God does see me.  He knows my heart and my prayers.  He has me in His Hands. Then I thought  . . . If I feel like this at times, others may too.

So, Today I am here to tell you – YOU ARE NOT INVISIBLE!!!  God sees you!!  He Loves You!!! He hears your prayers and thoughts – He will answer you – He will speak.

Not long after my encounter with God with the Rose, I came across an article by Priscilla Shirer titled “Who You are in Christ.”  Her words confirmed to me that no matter how I may feel, God has chosen me and I am His.  He will always see me.

Though you are the bud . . . one day you will be a rose.  Bloom where you are planted.

Love, Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling Invisible?

  1. Becky Walding says:

    I know that feeling all too well. Thanks for the reminder, roses are my most favorite flower. Love the illustration.

    Love watching you bloom, Lorna!!!

Leave a Reply

