Christmas Communion

I’m sitting at my desk early this Christmas Eve morning alone. Not that I’m really alone, my cat is sitting next to me. It’s these early mornings during Christmas time that I come to truly understand the meaning of Christmas.

Christmas this year has taken on another meaning. Though I still see it as a time to formally celebrate the Birth of Christ, it’s much more than that. It’s a Communion of sorts.

This past Sunday at Church, Communion was served – the cups of bread and juice passed around then taken at the same time by everyone. Communion, served in remembrance of Jesus who gave His body as the Bread and Blood as the wine. It’s in those moments when I partake of the Bread and chew it that I completely realize it was my sin that sent Jesus to the Cross. But then I partake of the wine (juice) and recognize it was His blood that washed my sin away as the juice cleanses my mouth of the bread particles.

It’s during those times of communion that the real reason for Christmas is given.  Christmas Communion.

Communion.  It was a reason from the beginning of time. It’s not the bread and wine communion I’m speaking of – it’s the communion between Man and God that sent Christ to the earth that day of His Birth so many years ago.

Christmas begins in Genesis when God says “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness” (Genesis 1:26). It is then that Christmas Communion begins – that moment when God wants Man (and Woman). He wanted to talk to us, walk with us, commune with us.

But, we humans sinned and Christmas Communion needed to become flesh. Jesus, the Word who became flesh and dwelt among us (John 1:14) was born in a stable in Bethlehem.   He again walked with people, talked with people, and communed with people. He lived life in daily communion with people. He even shared meals of bread and wine with people.

This year has brought grief and loss in a way I’ve never known it. Though I love my grandparents and grieved when they died, the loss of my Aunt Vivian brought grief to me in a way I hadn’t known before.  Her death has left an emptiness in my soul, a longing beyond words to see and talk to her again. The only thing which gets me though those moments is knowing that God grieves with me.

It is the one thing I know God fully understands – there is no reason to forgive grief. Jesus experienced grief. When Lazarus died, He wept.  He knows.  He understands.  Yet, knowing He would bring grief to His Father, He still came.  He still Chose to be born.  Let that sink in – knowing He would die, He still chose to become our Christmas Communion.

He still chose to walk among us, to talk to us, to commune with us.  Yet, even though He died, He did not leave us alone.  He still dwells with us today. Jesus told the disciples before His death that a Helper – the Holy Spirit – would come.  (John 14:15-31)

During Jesus’ Last Supper before His death, He celebrated Christmas Communion with his disciples. Not just the sharing of the bread and wine, but real Christmas Communion – the reason He was born. Jesus says, “With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer.” (Luke 22:15, NKJV, emphasis mine). Though He told those words to the disciples, they ring true for us today.  He fervently desires to commune with us.

After His Death and Resurrection, His promise was fulfilled. The Holy Spirit came (Acts 2). He still dwells among us.  He still walks with us. He still talks with us. He still communes with us.

This Christmas, as I anticipate spending the day with my family, I know I am not alone. The Holy Spirit is with me.  As I share a meal with my family, I also share a Christmas Communion with Christ.  When I wake tomorrow, I will think of His Birth and remember why He came to earth.  To Commune with His people, to save us from our sins. Then my thoughts will fast forward to the future when there will be another Christmas Communion.  That day when He comes back to again physically walk with us, talk with us, and commune with us.  It’s that day when I can share Bread and Wine with Him at the wedding feast.  It’s that day that my grief disappears.

So, this Christmas, believers, as you dine and share stories with friends and family, remember Jesus is in the midst of you – Communing with you. And for those who don’t believe, know that Jesus can dwell among you – just ask. It’s His desire – to share Christmas Communion with you.

And, if you’re missing a loved one this Christmas, know you are not alone. Jesus grieves with you (and so do I).

Merry Christmas! Love and Joy to you and yours!

~Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Just Life, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

