Fearless

Goodbye 2015.

I wish it was that easy to say.  Sure the calendar will change tonight at midnight to read January 1, 2016 but I’m not sure the year 2015 will leave my memory any time soon.  It was a year filled with stress and grief. It was also a year filled with happiness and fun. To say it was crazy is crazy.

Nevertheless, I’m looking forward to 2016. 2016 will bring changes to my life once again.  My youngest son will graduate in May and will begin college in September. There will be no more school events to attend – no more football games, no more concession stand work, and no more worrying about his grades. It’s been a long four years. Excitement is in the air!

My oldest is doing well – he’s working and was able to buy a truck that he wanted.  Not much more to say about him except I’m proud of the man he is turning into.

But, with the old of 2015 turning into the new of 2016 it brings apprehension of what lies ahead. During the last week of the year I start thinking about a new word to focus on during the next year.  This year is no different – however, the way I came about it was a bit different.

I was listening to one of Spotify’s Praise and Worship playlists and a song by Mia Fieldes came on. It was one of those songs – specifically a lyric – that stopped me from doing what I was doing.

“I am fearless in Your Presence” Mia sang.  Fearless.  Fear-less. And then I knew – that was my word for 2016. So I asked God for confirmation, and he confirmed – with a book titled “Fearless” that I bought at Lifeway.

Fearless.

As I re-listened to the song and looked at the content of the book, one thing was in common. Water. Within the song there’s the line – “No fear in the crashing waves” and the book has pictures of surfers in oceans. Being one that is afraid to go over bridges and being out on the open water, I really had to think about this.

And, as usual, He is faithful to explain.

Fearless. With all the craziness of 2015, I am fully aware that 2016 will bring changes to my life. With Caleb’s graduation and impeding college years, I am finding myself as a mom having two boys beginning their life on their own. My husband is close to retiring and I am looking forward to returning to the workforce. These things bring a fear of the unknown. Then, even with those changes, there’s a longing to become closer to God – to go where He leads me since both boys are somewhat capable of taking care of themselves.

It’s that fear – the fear of the unknown – that God says – Be Fearless! When you’re in My presence, there is no fear – no fear in the crashing waves. The waves that will bring me to places I’ve not know before – either with Him or in the world.

Fearless. It’s what I’m going to be in 2016 because I’m putting my trust in Him. Where ever the water currents take me – I know I will be safe because He is with me.

You’re welcome to be Fearless with me. And if your word is different, I’d like to know – Leave a comment and share it if you will. Also, take a listen to “Fearless” by Mia Fieldes (video below).

With Love and Blessings, Have a Wonderful – Fearless – 2016.

“The  Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

Happy New Year!!

~Lorna

 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Holidays, Just Life, Music, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fearless

Leave a Reply

