Disobeying Jesus

Now before you get upset with me – hear me out – I am not advocating Disobeying Jesus – quite the opposite; however, in this one instance – a woman who disobeyed Jesus got more than she bargained for.

I’m pretty sure she didn’t intentionally want to disobey a man – just didn’t happen in those days but it happened.

The disobedience begins when Jesus tells a Samaritan woman to “Give Me a Drink”.

Now, for those who don’t know the story (John 4:5-42) read it here, but here’s a quick synopsis:

Jesus is standing at one of Jacob’s wells when this Samaritan woman comes to draw water. Not only is she a Samaritan (Jews and Samaritans did not get along), she is a woman. So when Jesus asks her for a drink of water she questions why He, a Jew, is asking her, a Samaritan woman, for a drink of water.

This is where it gets interesting.

It’s at this point her disobedience begins. After He tells her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink’, you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water.”

What – Living Water?! – how can you give me water when it’s You who asked for a drink. Besides, you have nothing to get the water from the well with – it’s a deep well you know? Is there something I don’t know about you that allows you to get this water from my ancestor’s well.

But, speaking to the woman, “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, but whoever drinks of this water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into ‘everlasting life’.”

Give me this water!!!! I never want to thirst again. Go, and get your husband and come back, He said.

But I don’t have a husband.

By this time she as not figured out who He is but Jesus knows who she is. Jesus tells her, “You have well said, ‘I have no husband,’ for you have had five husbands, and the one whom you now have is not your husband;”

Ah, I know who You are – You are a prophet. By this time, she feels as though she’s been caught so she changes the subject.

She asks Him about worship – do we worship here on this mountain or in Jerusalem?

Jesus again turns it around – “Woman, believe Me, the hour is coming when you will neither on this mountain, nor in Jerusalem, worship the Father.”

I can just here her brain spinning – what Not Worship?

Jesus continues, “You worship what you do not know; we know what we worship, for salvation is of the Jews. But the hour is coming, and now is when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him. God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”

Again, she changes the subject again still not quite believing Him.

“I know that Messiah is coming” she tells Him, “When He comes, He will tell us all things.”

Well, just so you know, “I who speak to you am He.”

Imagine her thoughts – her actions – her disobedience.

She leaves her water pot back at the well – and runs to tell the men of her city all about this Man who told her everything about herself. Is this really the Christ?

To make a long story short, the men come see who she is speaking about. Along the way she tells them what was said at the well – about the living water – the truth about her past – who to worship.

Her life had been so changed by a simple act of disobedience that the Samaritan men came to believe in Christ. They came to know the Savior of the World because of her testimony.

Here lately God has been speaking to me about sharing my life story with others.  One day I will but for now I will continue to let Him fill me with living water – tell me about my past – and – teach me to worship in spirit and in truth.

From one simple act of obedience – the Samaritan woman’s life had changed and the lives of many others. It’s that kind of fearlessness I want – to be able to question Jesus and have Him answer me in a way that will change my life. How about you?

Oh, and if you’re wondering about that one simple act of disobedience that started this whole thing – she never did give Him a drink of Water! But look what she got in return.

Be Blesssed, Be a Witness, and Be Fearless

Love, Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve, The Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

